Throw Another Log On The Fire

Greetings from The Arctic Mitten.

You know, I have lived here for the majority of my life and while I don’t love winter, I endure it. What is the point of complaining for half the year about something that will be back in half a year?

But PEOPLE, this is a lot of winter!

For goodness sake. The Girls and I were conversing at lunch after church, and marveling at the fact that we were so happy when the thermometer hit 30 degrees. Which was not, by the way, this weekend. No, it was –5 on Friday night and struggled valiantly to hit the 20s yesterday. The sun was out though!

Things we are not taking for granted: our gas fireplace, throw blankets, GLOVES, clear roads, clean cars, fixed potholes. That last one is on the wish list. This is Michigan, they don’t fix no stinkin’ potholes.

Capri Deb and her honey BFG just came back from a delightful Florida vacation on Friday. They did not bring any decent weather with them. We are expecting to be back in the deep freeze all week and that is a rude way to welcome them home Michigan.

In other news, The Ab-Cat started her new and improved medication containing more antihistamines than can be purchased over the counter and has seen nary a hive since!

In other news, her body has decided that she shall never sleep again. I have heard rumors that antihistamines cause people to be sleepy. She is not one of those people.

I have a hectic evening schedule this week.

Tonight I am getting multiple things done to my hair in an effort to relieve myself of myself of my seemingly continual skunk stripe. Things involving hi-lights, a powwow at the beauty supply with my friend Connie, and a new, lighter, semi permanent color with 10 volume peroxide that she has had great success with before on others. Redken Shades EQ has been very, very good to me but it has kicked me to the curb and left me with few options, not to mention exposed grey.

On Tuesday night there is Birthday Club! What is not to love about not cooking dinner and chatting with loverly women?

And then the rest of the evenings are consumed by our grueling Olympics schedule. Also known as the event that comes every four years when Honey burns the candle at both ends even more than usual.

In a word: HOCKEY.

In two words: men AND women.

In another two words: Canada AND USA.

Like it’s his second J.O.B.

For some reason he also watches curling.

It’s like every four years he removes the blue from his flag and returns to his Mother Country.

O Canada, he stands on guard for THEE.

It’s kind of cute actually.

Did anyone else think that USA’s opening ceremony sweaters were a bit….much?

3 Comments

  1. deb said,

    February 10, 2014 at 8:14 AM

    I had to look up the sweaters, since I missed the opening event. They are reminiscent of the overdone sweaters of the past. But what a great statement with all of them together, have to give them a thumbs up. Enjoy your week of watching, I will too….no logs on the fire though, just a warm kitty on my lap.

  2. Laurie said,

    February 10, 2014 at 11:42 AM

    The sweaters were a bit “busy” — I wonder if the athletes have any input to design or options between various desogns.

  3. Nan C said,

    February 14, 2014 at 10:05 AM

    I saw the sweaters beforehand on the web. It was just as well since hubs & I missed the who televised ceremony. I heard about the Olympic ring lighting debacle through the article that said that the man in charge of those lights was found dead a couple days (next day?) later. Ooh, Vlad was mad, I’d say.


Leave a Reply

