Wednesday Hodgepodge

Happy Valentines week! If you would like to join up with the Hodgepodgers, click on the square below and head over to Joyce’s to link up.

1.What makes love last?
Faith in the Father, fun, family, faithfulness, friendship and a lot of grace. Oh heck, I don’t know. I have some loved ones who are now alone and I am sure they thought they had all that. I am just thankful that Honey and I still like each other. We have been through a lot of trials during our marriage and the odds were not always in our favor. The statistics for weathering a marriage when there are seriously ill or disabled children involved are staggering. I take no credit, it was all God’s mercy and grace. Plus we can make each other laugh, I can’t stress that enough.

2 The Beatles made their US debut fifty years ago this week. Are you a fan? If so, what’s your favorite Beatles tune?

I used to be a raging Beatlemaniac in high school with my friend Suzanne Suzanna Danna. Her favorite was John, mine was George. I still have WAY too many Beatle facts and information stored in my brain. I could really use the space for other things now. While I no longer regularly listen to them, I will always be nostalgic about The Fab Four. They are my favorite category in Quiz Up. I have earned the level The Walrus. Goo goo ga joob.

I have many favorites but they would not be the ones typically heard on the radio. Some include Blackbird, Abbey Road side 2, Dear Prudence, Mother Nature’s Son, Two of Us, While My Guitar Gently Weeps, and I sing I Will to all babies I rock.

3. Valentine’s Day-your thoughts? Do you celebrate in any way? Do anything special for the people you love? Expect anything special from the people who love you?

Honey and I don’t usually celebrate. I do usually get the kids a little something. I have some ideas already! I am not expecting anything.
4. Steak or burger…you have to choose. Now that that’s settled, how do you like it?

Steak please, medium.
5. The Hodgepodge lands on the birthdate (February 12th) of Abraham Lincoln, 16th President of the United States of America. Lincoln is quoted as saying, ‘Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test his character give him power.‘  Do you agree? Why or why not?

Some folks can’t manage either. It is probably a good test of integrity to see if power changes a person. They start thinking they are all suchy muchy. I guess everyone has to stand adversity, but some do it with more grace than others.
6. Honest Abe’s image is featured on the US penny (1 cent coin) so I’m wondering…what do you do with your pennies (or your country’s equivalent)?  It’s been suggested the US stop making the penny, and two bills have been introduced proposing just that, but neither were approved. What say you?

I usually put pennies in the laundry room. Stored in a pottery cup painted by Mousey when she was about 3 or 4. I guess if we had a ton we could take them up to Krogers and throw them in Coinstar. I have no hard opinion about the penny.
7.  Do you think pop culture deserves serious study?
Oh I don’t know. Our pop culture has become a sad state of affairs. It seems like the majority of pop figures don’t really have anything meaningful to say. Sometimes you feel stupider after listening to them! I guess we could study them to find out what went wrong.

8. Insert your own random thought here

I don’t know about you guys but I am glad they made Bob Costas step away from the world wide, Olympic camera! The first time we were watching I was all what is up with Bob’s eye? And my People were all, what’s wrong with his eye? They then decided that, oh yeah, there is something going on with his eye. It was becoming painful to watch and then the OTHER eye starting to look all joofered up It was making my eyes water just looking at him!

I have heard pink eye tossed around but I don’t know. I have three children and extensive experience with pink eye and it never lasted this long!

God bless Matt Lauer for stepping in and saving us all from another evening of squinting and rubbing our eyes. And God bless Bob and I am saying a prayer for healing right now!

Have a clear eyed week.

4 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    February 12, 2014 at 7:38 AM

    Oh I agree with the Bob Costas thing. I just said to hubs last night that pink eye typically clears up pretty quickly after getting on an antibiotic. Humor. Could not agree more! It is a saving grace in a long marriage : )
    Suchy muchy-ha! Gonna steal that one!

  2. Tammy Doane said,

    February 12, 2014 at 7:40 AM

    My heart goes out to Bob Costas-I have had severe eye problems that have looked like that and lasted for weeks-doctors just diagnosed it as an infection-yes, it is painful and so many people would begin rubbing their eyes when seeing me!

  3. Marla said,

    February 12, 2014 at 7:55 AM

    Laughter in a relationship: essential! And…oh, I love “Blackbird”….and really most everything the Beatles did together – and apart. Poor Bob Costas! His BIG moment to anchor the nighttime coverage and this happens. He’s not a happy guy.

  4. deb said,

    February 12, 2014 at 1:25 PM

    I remember the Beatles on Ed Sullivan so clearly, like it was yesterday. And their music marched along with me through childhood and teenage years, to the day I was in high school gym class and the word was that they had broken up. Too many favorites, depends on my mood.


Leave a Reply

