Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, I am very late to the party, it’s a little hectic over here this week! Thanks as always to Joyce for gathering us every Wednesday to discuss,

1. What’s the biggest change since your childhood in the way people think or act?

For all the talk about kindness and not bullying and tolerance and political correctness, we sure have become an obnoxious breed of people. People act terrible and they seem almost proud of themselves. Maybe it has always been this way and I am just noticing it more.

I also don’t think we thought we were so entitled to everything. Even watching American Idol and hearing some of the contestants say that they have worked hard, they deserve to be on the show. Wow, I’m sorry, forgive me for not immediately recognizing how special you are!
2. The Olympic Biathlon involves cross country skiing broken up with either two or four rounds of target shooting. Which part of that would stress you out more? Or would you love them both equally?

Both would stress me out and I would prefer to cheer from the stands thank you!
3. February is National Canned Food Month…what is your most often purchased canned food item?  What was in the last can you opened?
We use a lot of cans. Canned diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, mushrooms, the occasional cream of mushroom soup, enchilada sauce and black beans.  I think the last item was the most recently opened.

4. What river (anywhere in the world) would you most like to cruise?

With all of the sickness on cruises these days I am not very interested in this type of vacation.
5. It’s the middle of the night and you can’t sleep…what do you do? Count sheep? Toss and turn? Watch television? Or do you get up and do something productive?

I hate when that happens! I have done all of the above and then some. I start with praying, then maybe turn the tv on. On rare occasions I will get up and go on the computer for a bit the go back to bed. If it’s after 3:30 or 4 I just get up and do what I do. Blog, clean, get ready.
6. How important is keeping your cool?

I think it is important. I am not saying that I have never lost my cool, but I think I am a fairly even tempered person with a long fuse. If I lost my cool it was a long time coming!

I am going to go out on a limb here and say it is a sign of immaturity when people regularly lose it. Is there not some other way to express your feelings than having a big old hissy fit? Do you really think you are so correct in your opinions and thoughts that EVERYONE must be on the same page as you or else they are idiots? Are you so impatient that what you are doing is so much more important than what others are doing? Are you that self centered to think that behaving in an obnoxious way will get you what you think you deserve? Get over yourself.
7. I’ve got white stuff on the brain so why not run with it? White lie, wave the white flag, white knuckle it, white wash a situation, or white as a sheet…which phrase could most recently apply to your own life in some way?

I need to wave the white flag about something I have been struggling with for quite some time. Just surrender it to God. I do for a time, but then I go and collect the hurt back to marinate it some more. How ironic that we sang I Surrender All this morning at BSF leaders meeting. Or not.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Our new replacement mattress came last night. We couldn’t sleep on it because it was as hard as a brick! It was supposed to be delivered last Friday but I had to cancel because it never occurred to me that they would want to come at night and we had plans to go to our dear friends The Hostler’s VOW RENEWAL ceremony. We rescheduled for last night because we had no plans to be anywhere, which is usually the case. It could have been in the delivery truck since Friday! I am pleased to report that it has softened up after being in the house all night. I will let you know how sleeping on it goes. It HAS to be better than sleeping in a trough with a hill in the middle!

Have a comfortable week!

3 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    February 20, 2014 at 9:02 AM

    Amen to your # 6. I was very recently on the receiving end of someone’s white hot fury. It was ugly. I kept my cool but on the inside was thinking this ‘grown woman’ is in serious need of a time out. And Jesus! I have struggled a bit with the fallout since the incident occurred, over a week ago. Not done yet. I have had to continually hand over all that I am feeling about the whole situation. I will add that, at least if there is an apology, it helps one move forward. On the other hand three snarky emails fired off only fan the flames. All those who heard (yes there was an audience) were embarrassed and horrified at this person’s behavior but knowing you kept I kept my cool and she was in the wrong doesn’t make it easy to handle. Easier yes, but not easy. As you can see I have a ways to go : )

  2. jodaley said,

    February 20, 2014 at 9:03 AM

    ignore the typo…even writing about it riles me up-ha!

  3. warrenp94 said,

    February 24, 2014 at 2:34 PM

    3 am is sort of my time too…I hate it and it doesn’t happen often but any time after 3 I just get up and do something. Otherwise I lay there and maybe watch tv late night…it is usually boring enough!


Leave a Reply

