Winter Retreat

Y’All, we got out of Dodge last week! Mousey had a break from school and we left the frigid, Polar Vortex enshrouded Mitten in search of a warmer state. We found heat in abundance in southern Florida.

Here are my People at the Detroit Metropolitan Airport that is not located in Detroit. Romulus Metropolitan Airport is more accurate, but just like the Detroit Zoo is not in Detroit but Royal Oak, we roll with it.

We were delayed because of thunderstorms somewhere, so that left us with time on our hands. If you know us, that can be dangerous. Mousey posed a question that wasted plenty of time; what if we smiled our best smiles using an under bite? We then practiced all manner of under bite smiles. The friendly under bite smile, the silly under bite smile, surprised underbite smile, the come hither under bite smile. The sexy under bite smile was my personal favorite, go on, try it! H.I.L.A.R.I.O.U.S.!!!!! We smiled at each other this way on and off for the entire trip. Soopah sexy, said like Heidi Klum.

007

Several hours later, we arrived at the Ft. Myers airport, which I have to say is one of my favorites because it is so cute and small and light and sunshiny! We got the rental van and hit up Perkins for lunch, hello CHICKEN POT PIE!!!!

We then travelled to our rented house in Cape Coral. I realize this is a horrible picture but it was so sunny!! Such a problem!

photo

Honey had a terrible time finding a place to stay this year. We are not sure why, he started looking in plenty of time. We were not able to stay in Estero, Ft. Myers Beach or Bonita Beach where we had stayed previously. Cape Coral was a ways away from the places we like to frequent, it took about an hour to get from the house to the freeway because of all the traffic. Florida and traffic goes together like peas and carrots, like Forrest and Jenny.

It was a great house! Mousey said it was her favorite of all we have stayed in. I would have agreed if not for that pesky drive to the freeway.

Greeted by a dolphin mosaic!

011

A dining room we never used.

photo

A very nice kitchen! Lots of counter space. I like that feature!

016

017

Good lounging area, also a priority.

018

Our room. Honey said the bed was too soft. He developed a truly heinous cold a few days into the trip.

014

Therefore, this became my room in an effort to avoid the plague.

026

The Ab-Cat’s room was right off the kitchen.

021

Mousey’s room. It looked like this for about 2 minutes before the scattering began. She scatters quickly, and efficiently. Like a bomb.

025

As I said, lounging is important to us.

030

As is sunning. We have decided that we prefer a community pool without the birdcage. But the pool was loverly and warm and a good place for Mousey and I to work on our ice dancing routines.

034

Honey loved this feature even though we did not use it. We cooked exactly none on this trip. Unless you count warming up leftovers in the microwave as cooking. I do not.

035

The grill was behind this bar, just waiting to be used by the next guests.

039

We spent a great deal of time at this comfy table.

photo

Abby had a job on this trip. She had to figure out how to get me hooked up to our public library so I could check out a fake book on the kindle. We had instructions from our local librarian, but still she labored.

040

I thought she might sail the thing into the pool.

042

She worked her magic! None of the books I wanted were available but she was able to download Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan for her father. Just watching him laugh hysterically on the couch was good entertainment!!

Honey also got in some fitchin’. He never caught anything, but we saw quite a few jumping. It was a very pretty canal. The iPad says it was Camarin Canal. I did not know I had that feature to locate where I took pictures!

 

photo

He also enjoys the lounging. Here he is probably waiting for Mousey to get ready to go eat. He is a good waiter. I was liking those built in bookcases. Hmmmm.

photo

The last views on the morning we left. Beautiful pool,

photo

and sun drenched living room!

photo

After another 2 hour delay to return home, we finally flew back into The Mitten to frigid temperatures and 2 to 4 inches of winter. A special, special thank you to The Peanuts Champ for picking us up at the airport! The delay caused us to lose Beeve as our chauffer!

068

Honey got up and fired up the snow blower.

066

Some welcome home. And I caught Honey’s cold.

More tomorrow!

5 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    March 3, 2014 at 5:18 PM

    Lucky you for a warm sunny reprieve! We didn’t get any of the predicted snow this time around, and I’m glad. Hubs and I looked into a short Florida weekend in Marco, Naples, somewhere, but flights were ridiculous and our favorite spots were not available. Not meant to be, but at least we didn’t add to the feet of snow outside. Gotta find the bright side : ) Ice dancing routines? Oh we would totally get along. My sister and I like to work out a synchronized swimming routine when we vacation together. We think we’re hilarious.

  2. Vickie said,

    March 3, 2014 at 11:06 PM

    Beautiful pictures !!! Glad you got out of the Mitten for some sun and warm, I was smiling away, until I saw the snow pictures, then it was the equivalent feeling as finding a dead rat.

  3. Robin said,

    March 3, 2014 at 11:30 PM

    Jennae and I were in Ft. Myers last week too! To think we could have crossed paths at the Raceway gas station or someplace! We had been up in port Charlotte to see the brother! And the weather was heavenly! Our delay was on the return flight…way too many hours in that Ft. Myers airport…as cute and small and sunny as it was! Glad you had a good trip! I had blob withdrawls!

  4. Laurie said,

    March 4, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    Was wonering where you were — I missed reading your blob. So glad to find out that you all were enjoying warmth and family time together. Welcome back to reality !!!

  5. warrenp94 said,

    March 4, 2014 at 3:34 PM

    Oh how I wish I were someplace warm right now!


Leave a Reply

