Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys it’s good to be back with The Hodgepodge! A big thank you to Joyce for coming up with our questions every week and gathering us together to have a chat.

1. The expression ‘mad as a March hare’ originated with a fictional character who is distracted and frantic. When were you last ‘mad as a March hare’ and what was it that made you that way?

I am frequently distracted but seldom frantic. Nothing is coming to mind. Wait, I was a little frantic when I almost missed my flight to Virginia to visit Schmenky a couple years ago. After a long wait at the check in, even longer wait to get through security and the longest RUN to the gate? I was a little frazzled and frantic.
2. Mardi Gras this year falls on Tuesday, March 4th. Have you ever been to Mardi Gras, and if so what did you think? If not, do you have any interest in going?  Purple, green, and gold are the colors of Mardi Gras. Which one is most prevalent in your wardrobe? How about in your home?
I have never been to Mardi Gras and I would probably not make much of an effort to go. I doesn’t seem that appealing to me. I would have to say that purple is the most prevalent in my wardrobe, but prevalent might be too strong of a word.

3. Are you old fashioned?
In some ways I am, especially concerning behavior. I am appalled by how some kids act and what their parents allow for fear of crushing their little spirits, the rudeness of others, the disrespect of elders and the inability to have a open discussion with someone holding a different opinion. I also don’t think I should have to be exposed to the cleavages of girls and women in my everyday life. Didn’t your mothers teach you better than that? Call me old fashioned.

4. Do you carefully plan your vacations, or do you prefer the days to be more spontaneous?

We might have a couple of things that we plan on doing, but the rest of the time we are pretty flexible. This was not always the case. We used to tease Honey saying he would go see see The Biggest Ball of Twine, or whatever silly little landmark there was in a town! We have mostly broken him of this.
5.  March is National Sauce Month…what’s your favorite sauce, and what do you most often top with this sauce?
Honey’s meat sauce is mighty good. We call it liquid gold and just put it over pasta. As a matter of fact, we had it for dinner last night!

6.  What’s something that easily brings a tear to your eye?
I am not much of a crier but watching soldiers coming home gets me every.single.time. Our Girls actually watch videos of this and cry, on purpose!

7. If you could own any sports team, which one would it be and why?

The Detroit Tigers because my People are fans. Otherwise? Cheryl, I.Do.Not.Care.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Who had a Fat Tuesday Pączki? I DID!!!!!!! It was scrumtrulescent!!!

 001

Picture courtesy of Ab-Cat.

Thanks for stopping by, Have a delicious week!

5 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    March 5, 2014 at 7:35 AM

    We had our Pazckis, too. Melt in your mouth wonderful.

  2. jodaley said,

    March 5, 2014 at 7:41 AM

    Oh my word, that donut looks so delicious. I cannot even remember the last time I had a donut. And in boot camp this morning I started thinking maybe I’d try quitting sugar this month. Not so much for Lent, but more because it feels like that thing I need to do to drop the stubborn ten pounds. But then I see that donut and think wow-I need a donut : )

  3. Cathy said,

    March 5, 2014 at 8:12 AM

    I agree with you on #3. Good answer. That donut or whatever it is looks scrumptious!

    Have a great day!

  4. April said,

    March 5, 2014 at 8:37 AM

    Ok,,,my mouth is watering right now! I’ve never heard of a Pazckis…looks so tasty! I’m in total agreement with your answer to #3!

  5. March 5, 2014 at 9:28 AM

    Oh my! The picture in #8 eight looks absolutely delicious. I have been thinking of making doughnuts for a while already, and even though yesterday was Fat Tuesday I think I’ll make doughnuts today and simply celebrate a day late.


Leave a Reply

