Florida, Freezing, Feeling Better, Fired Up and Figs

I have a post vacation list here.

The seventh of March, well time keeps on slippin’, slippin’ slippin into the future now doesn’t it?

We heard that song when we were in Florida. Since we all have different musical tastes, the station we could all agree on was the classic rock one. I felt the need to share how old I was, or what I was doing, if I had seen that band in concert, if I owned the album or 8 track tape, or some other trivial nugget of information on many of the songs. I don’t think I wore out my welcome doing this.

Don’t judge me on the 8 track. I only had 3 and there was no tape deck in my ultra cool, brown 1972 Hornet.

By the way, the above mentioned song was Fly Like an Eagle by the Steve Miller Band. It was HUGE in my freshman year of high school and no, I never saw them live.

Our Girls did not know of my extensive knowledge of Led Zeppelin, due to a high school, plus a year or two, relationship with a former boyfriend. I was not aware of their extensive like of the band. Kind of funny really. And no, I never saw them live either. We did have tickets to The Pontiac Silverdome to see their tour in 1980, but that concert tour died with the death of John Bonham. Literally and figuratively.

I have always liked Foreigner. The Ab-Cat thinks they are the cheesiest band EVER. Never saw them.

We all like Journey, saw them!!

We are divided on AC/DC. Never entertained the thought of seeing them.

We all like U2. They were the ones we always wanted to see but never got around to.

I has been under 25 degrees here for the majority of the week, and frequently under 10.

I heard a rumor (from Heiffer Lynn, just sayin’) that we were going to see 58 next week!!!! We are going to have some MELTAGE!!!!!!!

Honey had a truly heinous head cold in Florida. I succumbed next, then Ab-Cat, and finally Mousey fell victim of the plague.

I feel a little better every day. Today I am fully breathing out of one chapped nostril, with limited taste and smell.

The Girls are still in the suffering phase.

Does having a cold mess with the hormonies? I have been flashing all over the place, especially at night! Oh my word, is THIS what you all have been complaining about??? For goodness sake, what a nuisance!!!! You will just be sleeping peacefully and then spontaneously comBUST!

We found out last night that a nearby Bennigan’s is closing its doors on St. Patrick’s Day after 30 years. It made me sad. I am not surprised, but sad nonetheless.

Anyone watching American Idol? Anyone have a favorite?

We are having Caregroup tonight for the first time in a month! I miss those guys!

BSF Bible study has been convicting lately. Well, mostly always. This week was all about wearing the fig leaves of religion but bearing no actual figs. I don’t want to be a lush leafy fig tree with no fruit.

Prayer and fruitfulness are the way to know God, not through ritual.- Joni McCarthy

I need to do what He wants me to do, not what I want to do. Capri K

May your weekend be leafy AND fruitful.

3 Comments

  1. deb said,

    March 7, 2014 at 8:52 AM

    Love that Joni wisdom…another nourishing morsel to chew on. No, not just chew, but act on. Hope everyone gets to feeling better over the weekend.

  2. warrenp94 said,

    March 7, 2014 at 3:31 PM

    I love Steve Miller Band and AC/DC…these things really should not be up for debate…and Journey too. Do you watch Glee btw? I like a lot of their covers of songs better than the originals…hard to hear myself say that but…

  3. caprilis said,

    March 8, 2014 at 9:42 AM

    I had that head cold all last week… nasty! RUN to the store and get some Mucinex-Max for severe congestion… that stuff is the best!


Leave a Reply

