Skin

I have three things to tell you about that are completely unrelated. Except they are about skin, or the lack thereof. Surprise, surprise.

Thing number 1. I read a lot of blobs whilst partaking in my morning chai. Many of said blobs are written by women of a similar generation and have similar concerns. Aging is a big topic. Aging bodies and skin are huge.

I have noticed a deficit in my own personal skin in the last few years. Lack of moisture and elasticity being the prime culprits. Not so much wrinkling, but I don’t want to look like The Saggy, Baggy, Elephant in my later years.

Therefore, I have been more interested than usual to read what other people around my age are doing. And they are doing a LOT. Creams, lotions, peels, oils, facials and a multitude of other treatments. This is all new for me. I only started wearing moisturizer a couple years ago. I was a wash your face, apply a little makeup and go kind of girl. It has become apparent that I need a little something more. I have listened to what others have said online and in my real life and tried some of their suggestions, because I am a copy cat by nature.

I have heard quite a few bloggers recommend the Clarisonic Mia skin cleanser. They wax poetic on their love of the dang thing! If they could only have one skin care product, this would be it. I asked Mousey if she had ever heard of it, because researching skin care products is a big hobby for her in her elusive search for beautiful skin. She said she had and in her thorough research, decided the Mia two was not worth the extra $50.00 for the features it offered. She said she was going to Ulta that day and I told her to call me and tell me the price. The one I had seen online was $125.00 plus shipping and if the one at Ulta was around that price, we would just save on the shipping. It was the same price, so SCORE!

ClarisonicMia Skin Cleansing System

I have to confess that I have never spent this much money on anything like this in my life. Just goes to show you what a desperate woman will do to try and look decent. All the moisturizer I have ever bought in my life might barely exceed this amount. I figured that it was also an investment. There are three females in this house who regularly complain about their skin, for multiple reasons. We will let you know how things go. I have used it three times and all I can say is it feels really weird when you use it around your nose. If anything, I have had some breakouts. I am willing to concede that the vibration is bringing impurities to the surface. We shall see.

In other news, Mousey, at the age of 19, had her first taco last night! We know, she is pitiful. Since she does not like beef, she never considered eating a taco. I have been aware of the chicken taco, and even enjoyed them myself. I guess the thing is, we rarely have tacos for dinner. That’s what our favorite Mexican restaurant, Chip and Dip, is for.

I took out ground beef yesterday for dinner. When asked what we were having, I said the dreaded goulash, which is an easy go to meal for me that I guess I have gone to too many times for them over the years.

Honey suggested tacos. I thought for a minute because tacos would involve a trip to the grocery for ingredients that we did not have. Ingredients like taco shells and sour cream and salsa. I was just heading out the door with The Ab-Cat to a follow up dermatologist appointment for a recheck on her hives, and I realized there would most likely be a stop at the Target pharmacy in our future. Our Target has the handy dandy grocery section, so yes, we could have tacos!

Mousey was home for dinner last night, which is not always the case, and lamented that we always have food she doesn’t like when she is home. Food like beef. We do not do this on purpose, I just want to clarify. I told her to cook up a frozen, skinless mesquite chicken breast we keep for occasions such as this, and make herself a taco. She did and it was a revelation! She loved the chicken taco!

Speaking of The Ab-Cat’s hives, she has had exactly one hive since she began taking the prescription antihistamines three weeks ago! She was completely out of her medication the day of the appointment and she said she felt itchy, but we saw no hive-al evidence. He prescribed her another two months of meds and said he would start weaning her then. Praying those hives DIE.

I have to tell you that we are expecting snow again this evening. Possibly 6 inches. Really trying not to whine here. Really not succeeding.

3 Comments

  1. deb said,

    March 11, 2014 at 7:38 AM

    I thought you had a lovely glow yesterday!

  2. Laurie said,

    March 11, 2014 at 9:00 AM

    “The Saggy Baggy Elephant” was one of my favorites as a child. But, agreed, I don’t want to resemble him in my older years!! My motto for a very long time has been “exfoliate and moisturize”.

  3. March 11, 2014 at 9:51 AM

    Cannot wait to hear your critique of the Mia. I’ve never had a facial but my girls have and it wasn’t a good thing. This winter has been horrific for me and my skin. One thing I’ve been using for almost a year is Coconut Oil Balm on my face. It’s pretty greasy and I would think it would make me break out but it doesn’t. My face is so dry and flaky and this has helped immensely. A plus is that it’s all natural.


Leave a Reply

