Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, glad you stopped by! If you would like to join The Hodgepodge, click the button below and head over to Joyce’s and link up.

1. Do you have an interest in learning about your family’s heritage? Why or why not? If you know a little bit about your roots, share an interesting piece of trivia or a fun fact about someone who goes way back on your family tree.

Funny you should mention this because we just had a conversation about it at Birthday Club last night! I was telling the ladies that I had suggested to my Uncle Bob that he should have a DNA test to see what it could tell us about our ancestry. I know they can’t tell certain things, but according to a show I saw on PBS with Henry Louis Gates Jr., they can give you percentages of ethnicity, such as European, American Indian, African American, Asian or Jewish. Probably more but that’s all I can remember. I was asking about my grandfather, his father, and if anyone else in his family was dark skinned like him. Bob said just my grandfather and his sister, as far as he knew. This is curious to me.

I have been interested in this subject for a long time. I have always wanted to know what nationality we were. Honey knows he is 1/2 Belgian and 1/2 Italian, easy peasy nice and easy. We could be Scottish, English or anything in the anything kingdom on my Mother’s side. My Father’s side can trace their roots back a little further. I wrote about it here a few years ago. It was a SHOCKING revelation, I must say.

It appears that our cousin Stan has traced our people back to the three Huber brothers who left a German speaking part of Switzerland called the Palatinate, and settled in Pennsylvania. Where they were before that, I’m not sure. This was in the Wikipedia, and it confirms all I read about in Cousin Stan’s papers. He knows why we left, but not exactly where we came from.

Here is a tantalizing hint, this could have been me.

 

One of my favorite tv shows is Who Do You Think You Are, for obvious reasons.


2.
Branch Rickey, the baseball exec credited with signing Jackie Robinson, is quoted as saying-

Luck is the residue of design.”

Agree or disagree? Why?

I disagree because I do not believe in luck. Even when things seem random or coincidental, I believe circumstances are directly related to God’s plan for our lives. Good and bad, strange or hilarious. We can plan and strive and coordinate and orchestrate, but if God has other ideas, you have toiled in vain.  
3. In the town where you currently reside, what’s your favorite green space?
I am going to say my own yard. Of course there is not a green blade to be seen right now. Winter Storm Vulcan is bearing down on us and it’s pretty white and nasty out there.

011

Ahhh, green and pretty, I barely can remember!!!

4. Who is your favorite comedian?
Oh DEAR, this is a hard one Joyce!!! Humor is very important to the fabric of our family. A lot of comedians are very funny but have too much salt going on for me to feel comfortable watching. So unnecessary. We love Jim Gaffigan! Oh and Bill Cosby! And I always liked Louie Anderson, is he around anymore?

5. March is National Nutrition Month, and almost everyone needs to improve their diet in some way.  What about you? How can you improve your nutrition on a daily basis? Will you try?

I could Just Say No to the treats more often, that’s for sure. I do better on a mostly low carb diet. I just feel better.
6. Which of these green expressions have you ‘experienced’ in recent weeks -green with envy, green thumb, green around the gills, or give the green light? Explain.

I was given the green light by Honey yesterday to buy a memory foam topper for our brand new king mattress. I tried, I really tried, but my lower back was killing me. I liked our new mattress comfort wise, it was just too firm to provide all night comfort. I brought the topper home and rolled it out and it poofed enough to put it on before bedtime. Last night and this morning? NO HURTY BACK! Thank you Lord!!!!
7. Where is one place you don’t mind waiting?

You know, I don’t usually mind waiting. I am a patient girl and if there is even a possibility that I will be waiting, I take a book, or knitting or something to do. For YEARS I had a deck of cards in my purse for this very reason. The kids and I have spent many, many, many hours waiting, in hospitals and out, for doctors and therapy and infusions, plus all the waiting that comes from all of the other things in everyday life. I have rarely ever made a fuss. Now Honey would be another story! Hi Honey 🙂
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

At Birthday Club last night we were discussing our winter and I mentioned that I had heard that we were 9 inches away from breaking a snowfall record that has been in place in Michigan since the late 1800s .We are now in the midst of Winter Storm Vulcan with a predicted 4-10 inches. The kids are using their last sanctioned snow day. I think we should just welcome the 10 inches and break the record so we can at least have SOMETHING to show for enduring this whole ridiculous season! Who is with me???

Be careful out there, it looks terrible.

9 Comments

  1. Bobbi said,

    March 12, 2014 at 9:56 AM

    Your random made me think about my friend…she told her daughter that we beat a snow record…her daughter said, “What did we win?” HAHAHA! Happy Hodgepodge!

  2. Carrie B said,

    March 12, 2014 at 11:35 AM

    I think we would enjoy waiting together. I also don’t mind waiting. I mean, it’s often an excuse to do nothing. Ha.
    I like your answer to #2. I agree.

  3. jodaley said,

    March 12, 2014 at 2:03 PM

    Louie Anderson was on the reality show Splash which had celebrities diving off of very high diving boards. Crazy premise, but he was there. We may see some snow this evening, not like yours, but still-ugh!

    Interesting to think what might have been : )

  4. teelee2013 said,

    March 13, 2014 at 6:51 AM

    Thanks for stopping by my Hodgepodge!! Interesting that your folks used to live in Lakeland. How long ago? We have been here 25 years. It’s a small world. I like Louie Anderson, too!! I feel for everyone “up north” this winter, with all the snow and ice. No way could I move north again. The blizzard of 1989 chased us to Florida, and I really don’t want to see snow again. Hope you can break that record!!

  5. March 13, 2014 at 9:43 AM

    Loved your #2. Exactly what I was trying to say. And your random is exactly why I like living in Texas! LOL

  6. March 13, 2014 at 12:28 PM

    I so want to do the DNA thing. My mom’s family has been researched to death and I know a lot about it, but I’ve never met my biological father and don’t know a thing about him. I can’t help but wonder if there are any surprises there?

  7. March 13, 2014 at 5:57 PM

    I have always wanted to research my father’s family. Every year I say after BSF is over I am not going to take on any projects so I can spend 3 months working on the family history. My father was born in Poland, a Polish Jew, not many left to survive. I have several cousins in Israel, I have met 5 of them. I also have cousins in France that I have never met. I need to really make a pledge to myself and tell my family I will be busy so I can concentrate on this adventure. I have the ship’s maniifast that my father come over to the USA on in 1919.

  8. warrenp94 said,

    March 17, 2014 at 2:55 PM

    We’ve been listening to more and more Jim Gaffigan and he never fails to make me laugh out loud! There aren’t too many funny AND clean comedians out there I think so he is a gem!

  9. Vickie said,

    March 19, 2014 at 9:23 AM

    I read your blog cuz I’m missing you!

    My families claim to fame is they donated the land that Nortre Dame now stands on. There is a chapel on the grounds that bear our name (my dad’s side of family)

    Louie Anderson is in Las Vegas for those of you who are interested in him. I haven’t seen his show. I prefer Ron White, don’t ask me why, he just cracks me up, it must be his delivery, he actually reminds me of my step father , who was NOT amusing in any way on any day. Go figure!

    On another note, your grand kitten is adorable!!!!!! I only have 2 months til baby Elise is here. I hope she doesn’t come early, cuz I don’t know nothin about birthing no babies, as we are all going to San Diego in a month (a co-combined 60th b-day gift ) from all the kids for a weekend together at the beach and to a Tiger game, and G and I are going to be in same car as the pregnant mother!!!!!!!! Nikole’s belly (only) is HUGE already!!!!!

    Love and MISS YOU!!!!!!!! xO


Leave a Reply

