Half Back

Hi Guys. It’s been a long week. Mostly spent in a drug induced haze watching mindless CSI Miami. That Horatio and his crew, they are almost like magic in their skills and knowledge. And in their over acting abilities.

I went in last Monday to have some kidney stones removed. In my mind, this was a procedure, but in reality, I guess it was surgery. I felt like I lost a boxing match.

Y’All, THAT HURT!

I am on the mend, feeling a little better each day, doing a little more each day. Yesterday I put laundry away. Today I went up and down the basement stairs. Tomorrow I am going back to the Admin team at BSF, more as a warm body than an actual working member. No lifting over 10 lbs for 4-6 weeks.

I am discouraged to tell you the doctor told Honey that this is not going to solve my problem. I am not sure what the next step there is.

But for today, the next step is less time on the couch with my Miami Dade buddies, less oxycodone, and doing my Bible study lesson. It’s a start.

6 Comments

  1. Cindy Stratton said,

    March 25, 2014 at 8:13 AM

    I feel your pain – having had kidney stones removed surgically and blasted – the blasting (to me) is much more painful than the nephrolithotomy (through the back and vacuumed out) – at least you have a morphine pump at your disposal. ha ha ha — Hope you’re feeling better soon. I’m sure they told you to avoid spinach, dark green leafy veggies, black tea, chocolate, raspberries etc etc. The thing I miss the most if iced tea – I don’t care for the green tea at all.

  2. deb said,

    March 25, 2014 at 9:19 AM

    Glad you are feeling better, baby step by baby step. Take care, don’t push yourself, avoid back stepping on your healing progress. Praying for you, for a resolution and healing.

  3. Nan C said,

    March 25, 2014 at 2:15 PM

    Am praying for a quick healing and an “up and at ’em”.

  4. jodaley said,

    March 25, 2014 at 4:24 PM

    So sorry you’re still in pain. Wishing you a speedy recovery. I’ve never experienced it myself, but have heard from others kidney stones are not for sissies : )

  5. Laurie said,

    March 25, 2014 at 5:50 PM

    When I worked in the ER, we could always tell a patient passing a kidney stone just by the way they looked — gray and in horrid pain. Glad they are out of you and that you are on the mend. I missed your words and was wondering where you were. Follow the Doctors orders and feel 100% very soon.

  6. March 26, 2014 at 6:03 AM

    I had to come back here and find out what was going on. Kidney stones! Yikes! I’ve had 3 surgeries for them but none for 10 years now. I take magnesium and B6 supplements daily and drink lots of water. I try to do the half gallon a day. Prayers for your recovery and no more stones.


Leave a Reply

