Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, it’s good to be back hodging, or is it podging? Thanks to Joyce as usual for her faithful leadership!

1. March is known as the windy month. Which of the following phrases best fits your March so far…’throw caution to the wind’, ‘three sheets to the wind’, ‘run like the wind’, or ‘see which way the wind blows’?

I am going to say three sheets to the wind, although I was not drunk. Just stoned on oxycodone, unsteady on my feet, laying around and sleeping it off a lot.  So basically the same thing as a drunk.

I have an observation to make. I hear that oxycodone is a popular abused substance, and I want to know who can take these things and get ANYTHING done? Seriously, I have been completely useless for days. I am now breaking them in half in hopes I can cut down on all the naps and regain my cat like moves. They really do help the pain though 🙂
2. Your favorite green food? Your favorite dish made with your favorite green food?

We are very fond of asparagus over here. Wash and cut off the ends, lay single file on a cookie sheet, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Place in a preheated oven for 10 minutes, remove and scatter shredded Parmesan, pop back in for two shakes of a lambs tail and WAHLAH, delicious asparagus!
3. Ever been locked out of your home-car-office-anywhere? Do tell!

Honey could tell you some stories on this topic! There are things to be said about me, but not concerning this topic.
4. Yoda, Kermit, Shrek, The Wicked Witch of the West, Oscar the Grouch, The Grinch, or Mike Wasowski (Monsters Inc.)…of the green characters listed, which one’s your favorite and why?

Choose Yoda, I must.  I think anything else would disappoint the kids, Star Wars was HUGE around here.
5. “The first task of a leader is to keep hope alive.”~Joe Batten Do you agree? Why or why not?

Maybe some kinds of leaders, but it is not what I naturally think of when I think of qualities of leadership. This sounds like a military leader. When I think of a good leader it is someone who leads by example, who would not expect someone to do what they would not be willing to do themselves. They live with integrity no matter who is watching them. You can lie and keep hope alive with one hand while you are doing all sorts of horrible things with the other. I think I just unknowingly described our government.
6. Share a favorite song with an emotion in it’s title.

Love Shack B52s?  Misery The Beatles?
7. What’s a road trip you’d like to take?

Honey and I have discussed going “Out West” with Mrs. Schmenkman and her husband Mr. C on several occasions. We would need to nail down a few things though, things like the where and the when, other than that I am sure we would have a great time going somewhere, sometime!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Jip the Farm Dog sent this yesterday. If you have a cat it is hilarious!!!!!

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJPJUaZZOss

Thanks for stopping by!

7 Comments

  1. April said,

    March 26, 2014 at 5:43 AM

    I was prescribed oxycodone once for kidney stone pain. I took it and it knocked me for a loop! Oh, it made me forgot about the pain alright…as well as my name, where I lived, who I lived with…you get the picture! That was the one and only time I’ve taken it and I won’t be doing it, again. I can’t stand the feeling of being out of it like that. I love asparagus and will have to give your recipe a try!

  2. March 26, 2014 at 5:56 AM

    I couldnt function on a whole tablet of 5 mg after hip surgery and like you had to cut them in half. That’s powerful stuff. I agree with you on the leadership question. And I’ll watch the video. So will my cat. She’s snuggled up beside me as I write. 🙂

  3. March 26, 2014 at 6:48 AM

    I love oven roasted asparagus too! I make it much the same as you do except I use black pepper instead of Parmesan. I can’t wait to use Parmesan the next time I make some!

  4. deb said,

    March 26, 2014 at 8:33 AM

    Ah, asparagus….I do love it. As well as green beans…..will try the parmesan over roasted asparagus. Jeff was on oxycodone when he had back problems, and it was the only thing that allowed him to function in the least. I can see how it could be addictive when severe pain is chronic. But abusing it to get stoned, wouldn’t be my drug of choice…lol!

  5. jodaley said,

    March 26, 2014 at 8:39 AM

    It was hard not to think of our current administration when answering #5. We love roasted asparagus here too. I make it a lot in the spring especially, and always for Easter dinner. Feel better soon!

  6. Judy said,

    March 26, 2014 at 8:43 AM

    I have never had oxycodene however I was given percacette when I had my wisdom teeth out. That was a party!!

  7. warren said,

    March 31, 2014 at 8:27 PM

    I really do not get drugs…I hate the way I feel om painkillers…I guess if you have enough pain…


Leave a Reply

