Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by and a special thanks to Joyce for hosting The Hodgepodge and giving us all something to chat about!

1. Since these questions are posting on the first day of April it seems only right to ask-when was the last time you did something foolish? If you can’t answer that one, try this one-when was the last time someone fooled you?

I am quite sure that I have done something foolish in the last month, but I’ll be darned if I can think of anything!
2. What’s the last biography or non-fiction book you’ve read? Was it any good?

I can’t remember a recent biography. Abby reads a lot of those and I sometimes skim her library books. I would say the last non fiction was Crazy Love by Francis Chan. It was very good, very thought provoking and very convicting.

You know what? I lied. The last non fiction book I read was Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle, aka Big Mama. I have read her blog for years and I loved it!
3. Garlic-friend or foe? What’s your favorite dish made with garlic?

Definitely FRIEND! All dishes are made better, but I will say Honey’s spaghetti meat sauce. Yum, liquid gold!
4. Several Spring flower festivals happen in the US during the month of April. Of those listed, which would you most like to see in person…The Skagit Tulip Festival in Skagit Washington, The Dogwood Arts Festival in Knoxville Tennessee, The North Carolina Azalea Festival in Wilmington North Carolina or the Daffodil Festival Weekend on Nantucket Island, Massachussets?

I will say the Dogwood Arts Festival in Knoxville, Tn. Tennessee is the land of my Mother’s People and Honey and Mousey are trying their darndest to get us back down there! For the record, I am pretty sure I would enjoy them all.

5. How do you choose which blogs to read?  What is something that will make you stop and read every time? Something that makes you say, ‘eh, think I’ll skip this one and move on to the next’?

I go by recommendation, topics I am interested in, a clever title or comment. I have an area in my favorites folder that is a holding tank while I decide if they are keepers. If I find out they are not what I thought they were, take themselves too seriously, are not interesting writers, or are too precious in writing about things, they are jettisoned.

A humorous way of telling a story catches my interest every time. I enjoy clever writing. I always think that a good writer could make me want to read about something that I would not be naturally inclined to care about.

Posts that feature someone talking about their “crazy” life (when usually not crazy at all), or are dishonest in presenting how perfect their lives are, or how big their normal problems are usually not too tempting.

6. April is National Mathematics Education Month so tell us, when did you last use math?

Ugggg, math, me no likey!!!  That’s why I married Honey! Maybe when figuring a tip, but that barely counts.

7. In honor of the A-Z challenge kicking off on April 1…choose one word beginning with the letter A to describe your yesterday.

Accelerating. I drove for the first time since having surgery and ran three errands. More than I have done in two weeks! It was also very acceptable walking in the parking lot in the 50 something degree weather!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

I had a dream the other night that Mousey had head lice. It was ALMOST as horrifying as when she actually DID have head lice when she was in preschool, FIFTEEN years ago!!!! Shudder!!!!

Have a good week and forget I mentioned that lice thing! Yuck.

5 Comments

  1. April said,

    April 2, 2014 at 5:46 AM

    I remember having to check kids for head lice when I worked in the schools…definitely wasn’t my favorite thing. Knoxville…I’d move back in a heartbeat! That’s where Chris and I met, married, and had our first daughter. I’m, also, a graduate of UT. Love that area so much…especially the Great Smoky Mountains!

  2. jodaley said,

    April 2, 2014 at 6:07 AM

    Hope the dream remains a dream. Nightmare? Congrats on venturing out in the car! Glad you’re on the mend.

  3. Judy said,

    April 2, 2014 at 8:13 AM

    Let’s hope the dream doesn’t come true. I understood the meaning of nit-picking after ours had lice.

  4. April 2, 2014 at 8:43 AM

    Yay, for being able to drive again!

    I also really enjoy reading blogs that are written with a touch of humor.

  5. warrenp94 said,

    April 3, 2014 at 8:00 AM

    I wish I could quantify what makes me read or not read a blog or even a specific post…who knows but there is something very definite where I decide within seconds of seeing it…anyhow…I am weird


Leave a Reply

