Socked!

When The Dane’s Parental Units were here over the holidays I noticed that The Dane’s mother, aka Jeanette, had on a cute, colorful pair of socks. When I commented on her darling hosiery, she said they had been made for her. I was impressed.

I guess I always thought that knitted socks equaled bulky socks, and that did not seem appealing.

The only other homemade socks I have ever seen were Capri Deb’s, and they were adorable too. But since she does everything well, I guess I thought cute, non bulky, knitted socks were exclusive to her. It appears I was wrong!

We got a present in the mail. From Denmark. Or Danmark, as the stamps say. Prioritaire!

001

It was full of loverly, colorful, hand knitted socks from Jeanette, handmade by her mother!

014 

A pair for each of us! People have laid claim to the pair they wanted, then changed their mind, only to change it again. I hope it doesn’t come down to harsh words and shoves.

015

I LOVE them!

018 

They are extra special because of Jeanette’s thoughtfulness. Who knew getting socked could be so wonderful?

3 Comments

  1. Nan C said,

    April 4, 2014 at 7:44 AM

    Now you are “the lady with Danish socks”. 🙂

  2. deb said,

    April 4, 2014 at 7:51 AM

    What a thoughtful and generous gift! To me, the only problem with making socks is that once your done knitting one…you have to knit the other. I made one pair, and it took me two years and many starts. Those handmade socks are like gifts of gold.:-)

  3. warrenp94 said,

    April 7, 2014 at 1:01 PM

    But you and Butch will have a hard time telling your pink socks apart!


Leave a Reply

