Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, welcome back to the Wednesday Hodgepodge! Joyce needed a break last week and we were happy to oblige our faithful leader!

1. April 22nd is Earth Day. Are you inspired by nature? In what way?

 I am inspired by God’s creation, how beautiful, how intricately designed, how awesome, diverse and vast. He’s a wonderful Maker.
2. Down to earth, four corners of the earth, move heaven and earth, not have an earthly chance, or salt of the earth…which earthly idiom have you most recently encountered? Explain.

I like down to earth folks, they are my favorite breed of people. They represent the majority of souls that I choose to associate with. There is something about knowing that the person has their feet firmly planted, not wishy washy like this world tends to be. No pretension, no drama, no respecter of persons, just faithful, goodhearted, salt of the earth types. Looky there, I used TWO idioms! 
3. Share one piece of advice you might give a newly engaged couple.

Admit when you’re wrong, don’t make a mountain out of a molehill and remember that you will laugh about it someday.
4. When did you last engage someone to perform a job, task, service, home repair, or improvement? On a scale of 1-10 (ten being the best) how would you rate their work and/or your satisfaction with the job or service provided?

This is an area that Honey and I do not have the best track record. We have hired some who turned out to be awful workers, like the yahoos who put in our new water heater last October. Honey knew more that they did!! He hired them to save himself some time but he should of just done it himself. The fellow who came in to fix the yahoos work was great though, so now we know who to call if we need a plumber again.

The last people we hired were carpet installers. Or rather, Home Depot hired them. They were also good workers.
5. When did you last find yourself engaged in small talk? Are you awkward or an expert or somewhere in between?

I would say that most every day of my life involves some small talk. I can pretty much talk to anyone. My children and Honey can vouch for this. I do seem to attract people who want to talk. When someone strikes up a conversation with me in line at a store, or waiting for something, or on an airport, I figure that God put me there for a reason and I always think pleasant small talk must be what that person needs at that time. When the person is elderly I sometimes think they must be lonely to want to talk to a perfect stranger. I tell the kids that it may be that you are the only person they have talked to all day.

I think I must have gotten this trait from my mother, who was very friendly. I think I have passed the gene down to our children as well, they seem well versed in small talk skills.
6.  What was the last historic place you visited?

The Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn, Michigan. LOTS of history there!
7. The world would be a better place if we just__________________________.

loved the Lord our God with all of our heart, soul and mind and loved our neighbor as our self.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Keelyody and I started the 2014 walking season yesterday!!! I am not lame today!!!!! Thank you Lord!!!!!!!

5 Comments

  1. A said,

    April 23, 2014 at 5:42 AM

    Our answers to #5 were very similar. Small talk comes easy for me, most of the time. Loved your advice on #3…great words to remember!

  2. jodaley said,

    April 23, 2014 at 6:24 AM

    We had to purchase a new water heater this past year too, and even though a certified Master Plumber installed it, our county inspector still had to come put a sticker on it to say the plumber did it right. Oh, and charge $250 for his stamp of approval. Life in the great state of NJ : )

  3. April 23, 2014 at 7:59 AM

    I agree. Down to earth people are my favorite too. 🙂 And good advice for the newly engaged. And so true about our awesome God and His creation!

  4. Judy said,

    April 23, 2014 at 4:42 PM

    I even talk in elevators much to the chagrin of my children. I do because I can’t stand too much silence.

  5. Nan C said,

    May 2, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    Small talk… My hubs has a “gift” for small talk, whether w/ strangers or friends!
    Two examples – One day several years ago (before we all had cell phones), Hubs went out to buy bathroom faucets; we knew exactly which ones we wanted him to buy. TWO HOURS later, he finally came home. “I ran into Gary (of Gary & Vickie). We talked for a little bit.”
    Another time Hubs came home from running errands and said, “I met a Messianic Jew and he told me (this and that and this).” My reply: “Only YOU could get a perfect stranger to tell you their life’s story.”
    :-/


Leave a Reply

