Friday List

I have a list because it’s Friday. Seems like a good enough reason.

Keelyody and I started walking on Tuesday.

I felt fine that day.

The next day, whole ‘nother story! I felt like I had been beaten like a rented mule.

It was subsiding a little by yesterday. We are going again this morning, I am uncertain what to expect.

I guess I should have done something over the winter. The Old Gray Mare? She ain’t what she used to be.

Really spell check? You don’t recognize ain’t as a word?

On Wednesday I went for a follow up appointment with the Dr. who did my kidney stone removal surgery.

Let’s just call it what it was. NOT a procedure. I think I had convinced myself that it was a minor stone retrieval, after all they only made about a two inch incision.

I did not know they were sending in a wrecking crew to root around in there, crush up the boulder, then vacuum up the debris. I felt like my kidney was liposuctioned. Have you ever seen that procedure on tv? They are rougher than seems necessary.

I like my doctor a lot, he does not appear to be a person who would intentionally do me great bodily harm. I choose to believe he had my best interests at heart.

Anyway, he had good news and uncertain news.

Good news first. The very large kidney stones were NOT infected!!!!!!! This is very good because that would have been an unsolvable problem.

Because there were many more stones where they came from and he said he could not get to them because they were in very complicated places.

I am taking this as very good news. I am attached to this right kidney, literally and figuratively. It is not a pretty kidney but it works, therefore I am glad for it’s presence.

The uncertain news is we are now back to square one.

I will continue to take the antibiotic for six months. I asked him if anyone had ever have this problem just resolve and he said surprisingly, yes.

He ordered an MRI to investigate another possibility.

So I am back to waiting.

But I am very thankful to not have infected kidney stones inside my body, because that seems gross.

I am pretty sure God knows what is going on.

3 Comments

  1. deb said,

    April 25, 2014 at 7:32 AM

    That is good news! I will pray for God’s handiwork in your healing and resolution.

  2. warrenp94 said,

    April 25, 2014 at 2:38 PM

    I guess kidney stones are better on the inside than on the outside but I am glad your inside ones are not infected too!

  3. caprilis said,

    April 26, 2014 at 12:29 PM

    Ditto what Deb said. 🙂


Leave a Reply

