At Least We Can Laugh About It

On Monday nights Honey and The Ab-Cat go out for dinner before they head off to their BSF classes. It’s kind of been their thing all year and I think it is a great way for them to relax and have a little chat, just the two of them. On occasion they have asked me and Mousey to join them, and on occasion we have.

As they were making their plans, because they had also made a decision earlier in the year to not eat at the same place twice, Mousey asked me if I would like to go out to eat with her, her treat. Well, who can say no to that?

She chose Chili’s because she and Abby had been talking about their chicken crispers the day before. I guess that lit a chicken crisper fire in her belly. We had a delightful time, discussing this and that, laughing, and sharing a Molten Chocolate Cake.

Oh.My.Word. I needed that like I need a hole in my head, and we can’t wait to have it again!!!!! It was even way gooier than it is in this picture, help me Rhonda.

Molten Chocolate Cake

Mousey put her leftover crispers in a to go box and we headed out. When we got into the car I asked her if she wouldn’t mind running in to Kohl’s, I needed to look at a couple of things and I had a handy dandy 20% off coo-pin. I asked her to help me to remember to look through the flyer before we went in so I could remember what I was there for. She said she would. We all ask for help remembering at our house, it’s like there is something in the water, leeching our memory.

As we travelled approximately two miles down the road, we resumed chatting about random this and that. As we pulled into the Kohl’s parking lot, I reminded myself to look through the flyer! Congratulations to ME! Mousey just laughed and said she had already forgotten we were going to Kohl’s!

She then reminded me of something that happened several months, or a year ago, that I said I was going to put on the blob. It describes our mental state perfectly. We were down the basement organizing some totes full of my Mom’s stuff that we had brought home when my Dad was moving last summer. One of the light bulbs in the room had burned out and the dimness was hindering me greatly. Mousey was taping lists of what was inside the totes and lamenting her need for a Sharpie marker.

I finally couldn’t take the annoying dimness for another second and said I was going upstairs to get a light bulb. She yelled up the stairs for me to get her a Sharpie too.

As I was rummaging in the linen closet for a light bulb I remembered that the light in the family room was also down one bulb. I got two and proceeded to replace the one in the family room before heading back downstairs. On arrival, Mousey asked if I had brought a Sharpie? No. No I had not. She struggled valiantly for another few minutes then said she couldn’t take it anymore and went back upstairs to get a Sharpie. I yelled up the stairs for her to bring me a sweatshirt.

Many minutes went by and down came Mousey, carrying a Sharpie but sans a sweatshirt. She had forgotten in the hunt for a Sharpie. Oh, we laughed.

Back to present day. After being home for about 10 minutes, Mousey went to the refrigerator to get her to go box of leftover chicken crispers and fries. It wasn’t there. She asked me if I brought it in, I said I had not. She went out and rooted around in the car. No chicken crispers. She guessed she left it on the table at the restaurant.

What is going to become of us?

2 Comments

  1. warrenp94 said,

    April 29, 2014 at 10:16 AM

    That’s the price of an awesome conversation with your kids! You lose track of the small stuff…but it’s well worth the cost!

  2. Robin said,

    April 30, 2014 at 7:59 AM

    This sounds SO familiar! I could provide Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner for an entire moderately populated country with all the leftover meal boxes I’ve left at restaurant tables! And somewhere I have a zip bag of Sharpie markers but…..???!


Leave a Reply

