Tu-ist

Did I mention that BSF is over two weeks earlier than usual? It is! Headquarters reworked the studies to stop at 30 weeks instead of 32. I think it’s a good thing because as I recall, those last couple of weeks were hard when you had elementary school kids. I know it was for me. Things got very busy with end of year festivities and field trips and parties and such.

Because of the earlier end time, I contacted Mrs. Schmenkman to see if she would be available to move our Memorial Day Hootenanny Extravaganza up a couple weeks. She said she could!

I will leave barely spring Michigan on May 13th and arrive in full on spring Virginia, ready to shop and eat and visit until the 19th!

Another reason for scootching up the Extravaganza, my cousin Mike is getting married on the 31st. When I first learned that tidbit I mistakenly thought that was Memorial Weekend, then I realized it was the weekend before. But all’s well that ends well, as Ma and Pa Ingalls always said, and we are just Hootenanny-ing a couple weeks early.

As I switched my closet over from winter to summer, it was apparent that I do not need to buy a single thing. I will try very hard to remember this as we commence with all the shopping. Thrift shopping is always the thrill of the hunt anyway.

I wonder if Schmenky will have any new critters for me to meet? Last year she had a baby squirrel in her sun room. I think she has a new rooster.

Mousey has completed her second year of college. She is taking a summer class that starts next week in her quest to finish college as soon as possible. Have I mentioned that she is sick of the schooling?

She has now added swim lessons to her lifeguarding duties at our neighborhood pool.

Mousey usually smells like a pool. Eu du Chlorine.

I should git, there is a dentist appointment to keep.

What is on your agenda today?

3 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    May 6, 2014 at 4:52 PM

    It’s not really spring here either. I was in SC last week and it felt practically summer-like. We have a frost warning for tonite??? My bible study group wrapped up today too. I’m always a little bit sad. Enjoy your hootenanying!

  2. deb said,

    May 6, 2014 at 5:14 PM

    Lucky you to be spending time with the Schmenkys on the Hill very soon! I miss all the Capris!

  3. caprilis said,

    May 7, 2014 at 6:39 AM

    Well, we’ll both have sparkling smiles for the Hootenanny, I went to the tooth picker/scraper yesterday too! 😀


Leave a Reply

