Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Here’s to SPRING!!!!!!! We are finally getting some up here in The Mitten!

Thank you to Joyce for giving us something to post about each Wednesday!

1. Share something you appreciate (or something you appreciated as you were growing up) about your mother.
I think I always appreciated that if I had a problem, she could most likely help me solve it. She was a very wise and capable person.

2.  A quote most commonly ascribed to Plato reads "Necessity is the mother of invention." When did this last play out in your own experience?
Honey is really good at this. He uses all manner of unconventional things to repair or help things make do. The last thing I can remember was a zip tie on one of the cars. It does the trick until he can properly repair it or get something new. He’s like a little baby genius!

3. Share one of the earliest memories you have from childhood.

One of the earliest memories I have is of standing on my child sized rocking chair, reaching for something on top of my dresser. I have no recollection of what I was after, but I clearly remember the feeling of my weight shifting and the chair rocking forward and spilling me out! My Mom would probably say I was reaching for her Hummel figurines, because i evidently broke them several times in my quest to play with them. I was probably about three.
4. When did you last ‘hit the mother lode’? What was it?

I can’t think of anything recently, but there have been times when I have felt this way thrifting. It’s the thrill of the hunt with thrifting, because I don’t need a darn thing. When I find several really cool things, or an item of clothing that I think will be a good buy, all for a super duper price? It’s the mother lode!!!!!

5. What is/was your favorite dish mom made? Do you make that dish for your family/friends now that you’re all grown up?

 My Mom was a good cook, my favorites were her pot roast and regular roasts, Texas sheet cake, she made really yummy potato salad and egg salad and devilled eggs.  I do make her pot roast and have made the other things but my family does not appreciate things with mayonnaise.
6. Mother May I? was at one time a popular children’s game. It required no equipment or parts to play. What was your favorite childhood game where you could just turn up and play-no gear needed?

 We played quite a bit of hide and seek in my day. Simon Says too. Do kids play those games anymore? 
7. Which TV mom (past or present) is your favorite, and why?

I am going to have to go with Carol Brady. That was just my generation I guess. She always seemed so groovy and kind, and of course could solve all problems in 30 minutes. OR Tammy Taylor from Friday Night Lights. No one says “Hey Y’All” better, and she loves her husband, the Coach.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is a picture of my pretty Mama. The back says April 1961. My Mom has been gone for four years now and Mother’s Day is still strange without her. Maybe that is how it will always be and I am ok with that. I am so thankful for the many memories we have. I will see her again.

IMG_0001

Revelation 21:4 ESV

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Happy Mother’s Day, and thank you for stopping by.

15 Comments

  1. April said,

    May 7, 2014 at 5:38 AM

    What a beautiful photo of your mom! She looks like a movie star. My mom passed away in 2000 and I’m finding that as time marches on, I long for her even more. She was my dearest and closest friend. My mom could make a mean pot roast, too. Oh, you can’t beat Carol Brady…loved her!

  2. jodaley said,

    May 7, 2014 at 6:10 AM

    Mayonnaise is a favorite of mine, but since I’ve been on a quest for better eating I use it so sparingly. My husband makes fun of me for measuring out a half teaspoon for a sandwich.

    It is so comforting to have that assurance, that we will see our loved ones again. I know for me, thinking about heaven is a little sweeter knowing my dad and grandma and my niece and so many other precious people I’ve known are there. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  3. Vickie Smoker said,

    May 7, 2014 at 6:33 AM

    That’s a great picture of your mother. I never noticed before how much “Beeve” looks like her. She was a great lady and I treasure my memories of her.

  4. caprilis said,

    May 7, 2014 at 6:41 AM

    Beautiful Ruth… Happy Mother’s Day to YOU Schmenky, you’re one of the best Moms I know!

  5. May 7, 2014 at 7:36 AM

    Wow, I agree, your mom looks like a movie star in that photo! So sorry for your mom that you were always breaking her Hummel figures. But even sorrier for you to crash out of that chair!

  6. May 7, 2014 at 9:13 AM

    Kelly the first question for the day has put tears in my eyes. My mom died when I was a little girls and to this very day I think of mom/daughter relationships and activitis. I have NEVER purchased a Mother;s Day card. I am sure I made one in lower elementary school I would love to attend a mother’s daughter’s banquet rather than a motherless daughter’s luncheon.. Always something missed in my heart.

  7. May 7, 2014 at 9:21 AM

    Up until the 3rd grade I never had a store bought dress. My sisters and I dress like triplets it was faster for my mom, you know like an assembly line. she made all three dresses at the same time. We didn’t seem to mind wearing the same thing back when we were young.

  8. May 7, 2014 at 9:26 AM

    Another remark I hate to cook unless it is a holiday meal. Neighbors gave me weekly lessons cooking lessons beginning at 9 and then I was on my one. I can cook my least favorite activity..

  9. Rebecca D said,

    May 7, 2014 at 11:14 AM

    You ask if kids still play those games… I sure hope so, but I am kind of doubting it… We live in a neighborhood full of kids (based on the bus stop in the morning) and I NEVER hear kids playing! So sad!!

    • May 8, 2014 at 1:52 PM

      Kelly gives us some more thought provoking comments so we can learn a little more about each other and life “way back when”. Love the blog post.

  10. Judy said,

    May 7, 2014 at 3:01 PM

    My grandchildren want to reach for my Hummel figurines as well. They are very attractive.

  11. Zoanna said,

    May 7, 2014 at 4:30 PM

    I feel that way about thrifting, too. My sympathies on losing your mom. What hope to know you’ll see her again!

  12. Colletta said,

    May 7, 2014 at 5:01 PM

    Texas Sheet Cake! Yummy! Your Mom was beautiful 🙂

    I hope you can stop by and visit:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2014/05/hodgepodge-mothers-day-special-5714.html

    Colletta

  13. May 9, 2014 at 5:36 AM

    Yes, you will see your mother again one day! What a beautiful promise we can cling to! My mom is still with me, but I see my darling MIL’s health slipping. It hearts to see parents aging, and know that their days on this earth are numbered. I know when their time is done they will go home to be with Jesus and they will see their parents again. That will be a great reunion and one that I will join some day, too. Happy Mother’s Day!

  14. Vickie said,

    May 10, 2014 at 6:53 PM

    Your mama was so glamorous! You were so blessed to have a great mom ❤

    #6 my favorite childhood game was playing waitress in a restaurant or customer in a restaurant. My sister and I would take turns. Wearing an apron taking the food order making the food and serving it. The other one would pretend to have good table manners and eat with their pinkie up. My specialty of the house was my mayo, mustard, catsup, balogna sandwich


Leave a Reply

