Wednesday Hodgepodge

1. It’s still May, right? When were you last in the middle of something that might be described as mayhem?

It seems like we have a lot of mayhem going on but I am having a difficult time remembering any!

2. When did you last feel dismayed?

A couple of days ago The Boy sent me a picture of his arm covered in petechia . He said there was a lot more where that came from.  That means his platelet count is low and that also means that there is some sort of ITP activity going on in his body.  He is in the process of getting his blood drawn  so they can see what is going on in there.  He has been in remission for the the last 9 years. Let’s hope it’s a blip. Mama is dismayed.

3. What’s a food combination you like, but other people may find strange?

Strange is in the eye of the beholder. I like my mashed potatoes and corn mixed together.  Apple sauce and cottage cheese mixed.  My recent favorite is dark chocolate and orange, but that is not strange, there are a lot of others who buy that!

4. “It is never too late to be what you might have been.” Do you think that’s true? Why or why not?

I think it depends on what you are talking about.  It is never too late  for God to transform my mind and show me who He has always wanted me to be, no matter the late date.  But I am pretty sure my dream of being a gymnast is shot all to pieces. That ship has sailed.

5. US News and World Report listed the best historic destinations in the US as follows-Washington D.C, Philadelphia PA, Williamsburg VA, Charleston SC, Boston MA, Richmnd VA, Savannah, GA, Santa Fe NM, Yellowstone, San Antonio TX, San Francisco CA, New Orleans LA, and Charlottesville VA.

Of those listed how many have you seen in person? Which two sites on the list would you most like to see in person?

I have been to four, Washington D.C., Charlottesville, Virginia,  San Antonio, Texas, and San Francisco, California. I will choose  Williamsburg, Virginia and Yellowstone. We have plans to get out west with The Schmenkman’s some day, Yellowstone is on that list.

6. May is National Physical Fitness and Sports Month. If you had to participate in a single fitness activity for the next half hour, which activity would you choose?

All I do is walk. I have always wanted to try yoga. I’m not much on intentionally perspiring. Honey and I have big plans to get our bikes up and running this summer.

7. What did you like best about the city, town, or neighborhood where you grew up?

There were a lot of kids in our neighborhood and we were all outside for a majority of the time. That seems to be a extinct thing anymore. We played a lot of those games that we talked about last week on The Hodgepodge!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I am in Virginia this morning with Mrs. Schmenkman, having a cup of chai, looking out on her loverly,  foggy yard, and getting ready to  perm her hair and have my own highlighted. The eating,  shopping and bargain hunting has commenced. Life is good!

 

4 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    May 14, 2014 at 6:49 AM

    Maybe we’ll see you in Yellowstone : ) I hope all with the boy is nothing worrisome. Will add that to my prayers today. Have a wonderful relaxing time away.

  2. April said,

    May 14, 2014 at 8:17 AM

    Hope your son gets good news…I’ll say a prayer. Sure sounds like you have a fun-filled day planned…ENJOY!

  3. Barb said,

    May 14, 2014 at 6:11 PM

    Praying for Connor and for you.

  4. zoanna said,

    May 14, 2014 at 8:50 PM

    I can only imagine your dismay over what your son has told you. Hugs and prayers that he stays in remission. I’m not much on intentionally perspire, either! LOL


Leave a Reply

