Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hey Guys, I am home from Virginia, back in The Mitten and ready to blob again! Click on the square below to head over to Joyce’s and link up with the other Hodgepodger’s, it’s a fun thing to do!

1. Under what circumstances do you do your best thinking?

In difficult situations. I can’t help my mind returning to the problem like you can’t keep your tongue from going where you lost a tooth. The constant revisiting, thinking, praying over the situation, it’s how the problem is taken apart, analyzed and put back together in a workable way. I can’t say that it is always a pleasant experience, but it gets the lions share of attention. 
2. Are you a risk taker? What’s one big risk you’ve taken?
I don’t really consider myself a risk taker. In my heart I feel like a rule follower. To a lesser degree I could say that I am honest, and that can be risky when someone wants to hear something else.

3. Some of the most common phobias according to the National Institute for Mental Health are-fear of spiders (arachnaphobia), snakes (ophidiophobia), heights (acrophobia), fear of spaces from which escape is difficult (agoraphobia), fear of thunder and lightening (astrophobia), fear of dogs (cynophobia), injections (trypanophobia), social situations, flying (pteromerhanophobia) and fear of germs and dirt (mysophobia). True phobias affect only about 10% of adults, but of those listed which would you rate as your greatest fear?

The older I get the more I realize I am sort of claustrophobic. I cannot stand to be so hemmed in that I cannot move. So that with a side of mysophobia. I do ALL I can to stay away from germs. I also really don’t like snakes or sharks. I am tri-phobic!
4. Are you settled or do you feel the need to move somewhere new?

I feel I am settled but there is the nagging realization that things will soon change. Honey will be retiring in the next few years and I know he wants to relocate south. While I find that exciting in a way, I will be ever so sad to leave our life here. Our family and many dear friends are here or nearby, all the activities we pursue are around here. Just big changes coming.

5. What is something you find annoying when dining in a restaurant?

It’s very annoying when your waitperson seems to have vanished off the face of the earth! No one wants to spend a goodish amount of time looking to flag them down.
6. Daffodil yellow, sunset orange, spring green, or sky blue…your favorite color this time of year?

Really Joyce, we have to choose? they are ALL so delicious in spring! After the winter we had, blue skies are most welcome.
7. If you were going to take a holiday all by yourself, where would you go?

I just did it! Every May for the last 19 years I have flown down to Mrs. Schmenkman’s, first to Greensboro, N. Carolina, and the last 15 or so to Front Royal, Virginia. Honey gave me the trip as a special Mothers Day gift one year and I just assumed it was an annual thing for the REST OF MY LIFE!!!!!

It’s always so nice to see her and we have a lot of fun eating and talking and shopping our way around the towns near her. Since Schmenky is child free, she has a different type of life. When she visits here, I’ve had to do all the things I normally do with the kids, when at her house, it’s all us. I will have some posts about the trip later in the week.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Today is Honey’s birthday!!!! I am always thankful for him, but birthdays and anniversaries cause you to reflect a little more. Since he is 57 I will just get rid of the big 5 and give you 7 reasons why I love him so.

1. His heart is big, if you are loved by Honey, you are LOVED. We are enveloped in that love.

2. He is so generous. To others, to his children, to me.

3. The other day we were talking about a couple we know. He asked me if the wife was going to do something with our group of women. I said I didn’t know if she did activities like that, it seemed like she just hung out with her husband. He said “ oh, like you and me?”. He’s a big old hunk of honey.

017

4. He is quirky. He can be watching Man Verses Food, American Pickers, The Turtleman, Kung Fu movies and some bad science fiction, all at the same time through the miracle of clicker technology!!!!! We tease him, but we love him!

5. He’s a fixer and a maker. We have a saying around here, JIMMYDOIT!!!!!!!

034

6. Mousey says he is smart and capable. Any problem or issue she has, he can help her fix it. He is also driven and type A because somebody around here needs to be. I only have her input because she is the only one here, as she is up early, probably dying of a throat ailment.

7. Quite simply, he is my favorite person.

039

Happy Birthday Honey, in better and worse, I dee and Dough!

Thanks for stopping by!

5 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    May 21, 2014 at 7:26 AM

    Sweet tribute to your Honey : ) Happy birthday to him!

  2. Laurie said,

    May 21, 2014 at 10:09 AM

    Give our Happy Birthday wishes to Honey. He’s a keeper!

  3. Honey's Older Sister said,

    May 21, 2014 at 12:14 PM

    Happy Birthday to my little brother. Hope you have a fabulous day! hugz and prayers.

  4. BFG said,

    May 21, 2014 at 7:47 PM

    Happy Birthday H-????? Ah — Butch
    we need to plan a Fitchin trip soon

  5. warrenp94 said,

    May 28, 2014 at 2:14 PM

    Butch looks dashing!


Leave a Reply

