Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for dropping in! Thanks to Joyce for gathering us for another Hodgepodge!

1. I’ve read several posts and status updates recently describing end of year school field trips. Do you remember taking school field trips as a kid? Where did you go and do you recall a favorite? For any parents responding today, have you ever chaperoned a school field trip, and if so where?

Field trips were not as big a deal when I was a kid as it was when our children were growing up. I can barely remember any. The only ones that I can think of were visiting The Henry Ford Museum and we went to The Toronto Science Centre when I was in the 6th grade. We did have a choir concert in a local mall in middle school, does that count?

I guess my favorite trip was the train ride to Toronto. We played Truth or Dare all the way home, which should have just been called You Kiss Them Over There. I believe Ralph G. was my first kiss ever on that train!

Our kids had multiple field trips in pre school and dozens in elementary school! I went on as many as possible. We have been to bakeries, apple orchards, bread companies, Greenfield Village, boat rides on the Detroit River, trips to Lansing to see the Capital Building, picnics, Mayberry Farm, Real Life Farm, Detroit Institute of Art, one room school house, Amherstberg, Ontario, Canada to Fort Malden, historical museums, went to plays, The Detroit Zoo. I could go on, but that’s enough!
2. What’s something you’re tired of seeing online?

I am seriously tired of politics and the lack of integrity and accountability of our leaders. Does anybody do the right thing for the right reasons anymore? All the bickering and outright LYING is sickening and pathetic. It does not encourage me one bit that we are heading towards a big election in 2 years. I wish someone would remind politicians that one day they will stand before a holy and righteous JUDGE and no amount of spin will cover their tails. 
3. June is the month for roses. Which of the following expressions would you say has most recently applied to your life-‘everything’s coming up roses’, ‘there’s no rose without a thorn’, ‘came out smelling like a rose’, or ‘wearing rose-colored glasses’?

I will say everything’s coming up roses for now! The Boy was home last weekend for a family wedding and he was able to get his blood drawn while here. His platelet count was 195,000, up from 6000 a couple weeks ago!! Woo Hoo!!!!!!! Thank you to all who prayed for higher counts! He will wean off the steroids soon, so we are praying that they have given his immune system the jolt it needed to get its act together and send his ITP packing!!!
4. When grilling outdoors do you prefer gas or charcoal? Who does the grilling at your house? What’s the last thing you ate that was cooked on a grill?

We use gas but it seems like there are some sort of charcoal thingies down in there. Honey usually BBQ’s, but I have on occasion. We had hamburgers on the grill last night as a matter of fact, masterfully cooked by Chef Honey!
5. Are you afraid of the dark?

It depends. I am not afraid to walk around the inside of our house in the dark, of course there are various nightlights scattered strategically here and there. I would not be pleased to be in pitch dark in someone’s creepy basement, or outside in utter blackness searching for my dumb dog!!
6. Share a favorite song with a number in it’s title.

I have always been fond of One After 909 by The Beatles from the Let it Be album.
7. "Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves."(C.G. Jung). Do you agree? Why or why not?

There are several types of people that rub my fur the wrong way, and most for the same reasons. I can agree that it has lead me to the understanding that I have little patience for whining and lack of common sense. I don’t think what irritates me about others irritates me about myself. There are things to be said about me, but I don’t think those two are it. Maybe it shows me my intolerance, but I already have a pretty good understanding of that..
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Speaking of field trips, Mousey’s preschool class had the BEST! Her teacher, Mrs. Berg, was a lovely, creative, interesting leader who introduced her little students to many wonderful things. They made bread at Great Harvest, decorated cakes at Mary Dennings Cake Shoppe, went to Real Life farm and rode a horse and made butter and pet all manner of farm animals, picked apples at the orchard and pumpkins at the patch, and others that I can’t recall at the moment.

These pictures are of one of the most unique trips we ever went on. I can’t remember what the name was, but this man had many exotic animals at a warehouse that the students could interact with. He was so good with the kids and he was an expert handler of his animals.

IMG_0001

Mousey couldn’t wait to pet that kitty!

IMG_0002

For some reason I think this was a chinchilla, but that was many years ago.

IMG_0004

Snakes, why did it have to be snakes? Name that movie!

IMG_0003

And then she HELD it!!! My mind is still screaming.

IMG

A much more pleasant view to leave you with! I miss that little Mousey girl.

IMG_0005

Thanks for stopping back to Hodgepodge and go Way Back with me. Have a great week!

7 Comments

  1. shortybear said,

    June 4, 2014 at 5:21 AM

    Praise God for higher counts.

  2. Judy said,

    June 4, 2014 at 5:38 AM

    Glad the drugs worked for your son. Enjoyed the pictures!

  3. June 4, 2014 at 7:34 AM

    Sounds like very good news for your son! Praise God.

  4. Wendy said,

    June 4, 2014 at 8:48 AM

    Indiana Jones and the Lost Ark? At least it wasn’t rats, oh wait, that was his father. Great pictures.

  5. Laura Anne said,

    June 4, 2014 at 9:21 AM

    Great news about your son!

    I’m now realising why this gas grill question was asked. I could not understand it since only the poshest people in the UK have gas grills in their garden (and electric plug sockets outside so they can like plug in a CD player or something I guess) – we always use charcoal barbecues to grill on here.

  6. Laurie said,

    June 4, 2014 at 9:47 AM

    “Raiders of the Lost Ark” — my favorite Indiana Jones movie.

  7. Linda E.H. said,

    June 4, 2014 at 6:59 PM

    Great photos. The kids look like they enjoyed getting to know the animals.

    I hope your son continues to get better.

    And I liked your answer to question number one. Often times we remember class trips for what else happened instead of what we were intended to learn.


Leave a Reply

