Sassy Recap

I have some final pictures of Sassy Cat Hill to share. It’s always interesting to see what Schmenky has blooming, or has done around the place, or meet new critters, or just soak up the familiarity.

 photo

Foggy morning. It’s always a beautiful morning at Schmenky’s.

photo

Same pond, different angle, sunny weather.

 

photo

We got Schmenky set up on Instagram. Well, she set herself up, I just bugged her to do it! To quote Mousey, stealthy chin coverage!

photo

You can see what she has going on up on The Hill, follow her on SASSYCATHILL. She even has her own hashtags; #sassycathill and #sassyblooms.

I know I have shown you The Sassy Cats before, but I will show you again. They each have their own sweet and sassy personalities! There was some loss on the hill since I last visited. One of the outside cats, Nellie, passed away, and one of the triplets, Kubota, did as well. The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away. Always hard for us to bear, but always more to care for.

This is Poppet, the famous spanking kitty. She is giving me “special loves”.

photo

As you can see, I hate it when that happens 😉

photo

The King of the castle, The Lion King, His Royal Highness, Head Biscuit Maker, Kismet.

photo

More Poppet, because she loves me best.

photo

Bitsy Bee on the chair, Kismet grooming on the floor, and Casey holding court on the ottoman.

photo

Casey Lee Bumgardner. He is a big old hunk of honey. And a vociferous head butter and hair lover.

photo

This is the newest sassy, Halle. I am pretty sure everyone on the hill calls her Princess. She is Mr. C’s special girl and she was my roommate. She has integration anxiety and lives in the Schmenkman’s spare bedroom until they can find her a forever home with no children or other animals. She has a lot of fears but is a super sweet kitty witty. She hid under the bed for the beginning of my visit, but she soon let me be friends with her, even though it felt like we had to start all over each day. By the end of the week she was sleeping on the bed all night, purring profusely. She is really cute but every single picture I took she had Fear Ears.

photo

The Lone Sassy outside cat, Brutus Beefcake. Sporting the cowbell, to alert future prey. Schmenky bathed him before I arrived. He was looking spiffy. For Brutus anyway!

photo

While I was there they had themselves some wicked, torrential weather. Or so we were told, because we slept through the ENTIRE storm. SERIOUSLY, never heard a thing. Yeah, I don’t know how we did it either! We had no idea until we started to leave her neighborhood and the road was closed because the creek was over the bridge! Someone even said the bridge was washed away! It wasn’t though.

 DSCN0627

We turned around to go out the other end of the road and saw much damage, deep gashes where the creeks cut furrows in the road, and there was still rushing waters that are generally only a trickle.

DSCN0630

We tried to go for a walk at her local high school but were sidetracked by this.

DSCN0644

Lots of water, as far as the eye could see, covering the path.

DSCN0647

DSCN0642

It looked like giant beavers were building a dam with all the flotsam and jetsam that was swept downhill!

DSCN0643

Just a general over spillage going on.

DSCN0645

So no trails for The Capri’s.  😦 We hoofed it around the big old high school to get our walk in.

DSCN0646

I have decided that next year I am going to write down snippets of the week so I can refer to the list when I get home. After all, the trip was several weeks ago, and I am getting older and losing mental acuity.

What stands out the most are many good meals, some pretty decent shopping, we frozen yogurted at Sweet Frog an amazing amount of times, lots of conversation and many laughs, and you will just have to take my word for it because I can’t seem to remember any particulars!!!

Oh, and I need to thank Mrs. Schmenkman here, in front of The Lord God Almighty and the entire internet community, for putting up with me being on the phone and texting and iMessaging for an enormous amount of the trip while I attempted to be helpful and dot I s and cross Ts when The Boy was having his health crisis in Chicago! You know how I always have to have some socially unacceptable problem when I go down there? Well, that was it this year. Thank you for being so gracious to me Schmenky Schmenkerton!

004

Here she is with her honey of 29 years, Mr. C, who was only home for about 10 minutes in between his business trips to Greensboro, N.C. and Mexico! He is her helper in all of the gardening and critter adventures. Oh, I just remembered something! When we woke up one morning, Mr. C said some bears had been there the night before, as evidenced by the laid out, empty bird feeders. They caught the whole robbery on their bear cam! He asked me if I wanted him to wake me up if they came back the next night. No, no I don’t, thank you! They live in the wild wilderness I tell you! I found a tick on MY PANTS there people!!!!!!!

009

Thanks for the fine time, Schmenky! And for the 26-27 years of friendship, through literally thin and thick, health and sickness, haircuts, highlights and perms, ticks and floods and bears!

005

Love that Girl!

photo

Next year is our twentieth anniversary of The Memorial Day Hootenanny Extravaganza!!!!!!! How can that be?

3 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    June 5, 2014 at 8:56 AM

    Awe, you got me all teary-eyed Schmenk! Love you too 🙂

  2. Laurie said,

    June 5, 2014 at 9:19 AM

    Good friends are forever friends. You two are so lucky to have each other in your lives.

  3. Vickie said,

    June 5, 2014 at 11:53 PM

    No wonder you like to visit there!!!!


Leave a Reply

