F-List

Hi Guys, a list is on the agenda for today. Not a complete surprise after the plethora of posts about the family wedding from May 31st. Onward we go, in random order of course.

We have no wedding this weekend. No one is home for a wedding either. What we have this weekend are grad parties.

Big Mama asked for some summer reading suggestions yesterday. I wrote down about a dozen or so ideas. It’s hard to judge if they will be solid gold though as I do not know her people, but I do know you people. Any recommendations from the known people?

I am going to the library this afternoon with The Ab-Cat. So be quick about it!

Capri Deb and Capri Laurie are the winners in the name the movies from the last posts. The Princess Bride and Forrest Gump, respectively.

Speaking of movies, we watched Monuments Men last night. I had been looking forward to it since seeing a trailer at the big movies. I like history, and WW2 things in particular, so I had high hopes. Well, the review is mixed from me. The girls would give it a total thumbs down, Mousey didn’t even finish it. The story and acting were very good. Really liked the story lines I could follow and there was my problem. I wasn’t sure what was going on a good bit of the time. In my research after watching, I am a little more aware. It was quite a story. I guess I needed to be briefed before I watched. Just a little confusing.

The pool is OPEN! Honey and I tackled it yesterday morning. Guess what? It did not require a DROP of additional water this year. A small bonus from the record breaking total snowfall we survived this winter.

Speaking of The Polar Vortex, we are almost finished getting rid of the carnage. Most of the death has been trimmed, chopped or removed. We are in the process of getting estimates to axe The Hedge of Death down to about a foot. We could do it, but that is a LOT of branch to dispose of.

006

It is going to look weird out there for the next few years.

008

A little purty to offset all the ugly. The iron and wine weigelia did not care one whit about our nasty old winter. It’s blooming its little heart out!

015

As is the peony that my Mom gave me shortly before she passed away. Hi Mama!

012

In other news, I bought the felines a new bed. They use their beds a great deal, and the bed in this spot had seen finer days. This bed is called a deep dish cuddler. Since summer has arrived, no one is very interested in warmth or cuddling, so it has not been broken in. My only concern is their girth. They could be like Pooh Bear, wedged in a great tightness.

017

Hence this purchase. Staging an intervention. NOW.

020

Back tomorrow with The Weekly Sy.

Don’t forget to suggest your summer reading suggestions! Who made up the word suggest anyway? Its kind of an ugly word.

Have a good Friday.

3 Comments

  1. Carrie B said,

    June 13, 2014 at 2:18 PM

    I’ve not read anything lately except for The Fault in our Stars by John Green. Have you read that yet?
    And now as I see the time you posted – it’s far too late for a suggestion of any kind, especially since I’m on Pacific Time at that!
    And yes, suggest is a weird word.

  2. 3goodkids said,

    June 13, 2014 at 9:20 PM

    Paul and I weren’t quite sure what we thought of monuments men either. I did know a bit of the background but we were confused at a few points also.

  3. warrenp94 said,

    June 18, 2014 at 1:13 PM

    Ahhhh…peonies…


Leave a Reply

