What We Have Been Up To

I believe I mentioned that it has long been Honey’s dream to do something with our patio. There were some cracks and this unsightly low spot, that either looked like this, or was usually a murky puddle.

In preparation, he re caulked and power washed the patio.

Even with power washing it was not coming clean anymore. Honey bought some concrete and we filled it in as best as we could. I told Honey he did a pretty good job, and asked if he had used concrete before. He simply said he was Italian. I guess it’s in the genes.

053

Surveying his C-ment.

photo

At the bottom is the biggest crack, which he did not caulk.

photo 

There were two products to choose from at Home Depot, Behr DeckOver and a Rustoleum product. We chose Behr because the paint lady at Home Depot said it went on easier and she thought it was a better product. Honey has asked her opinion on things before and felt comfortable taking her advice.

photo

Then Capri Patt came and got her hairs cut and helped pick the color, coffee. I have read a lot of reviews on this product and while the people who used it on concrete said it was good for cement, there was not much good to say about actually using it on decks. For this reason we will be staining, also a dark coffee. I want to cover up the orange-y stain we did about 6 years ago before our family reunion party. SERIOUSLY, was the party that long ago???? Goodness, time flies!

photo

We started cutting and rolling early Sunday morning when Honey came home from work. Our thought was get the first coat on, Honey goes to bed, gets up and we do it all again. It required 4 hours drying between coats and it was a low humidity, breezy day. I think the breeze was helpful. Several reviews commented on the strong smell of the product. I am very sensitive to strong smells and the breeze caused me to hardly notice. Which if you know me and my hound dog nose, is really saying something.

I love it!

photo

The product is supposed to fill in small cracks and while it did do that in some places, this bad boy was just too big. I don’t mind though, it never bothered me unpainted and I doubt it will bother me now. Let’s say it adds character.

photo

It looks a hundred percent better out there! Of course the jury is still out on how it will hold up to patio furniture scooting on it, general wear and tear, not to mention Michigan winters. I wouldn’t have a problem with a little touch up each year. Mass peeling or chipping would be another matter. We will see.

Next up, the saddest deck around. The Polar Vortex pretty much stripped the remaining orange-y stain right off.

photo

The ramp needs some attention on the floor boards.

photo

This side got its tail whipped. I am trying to convince Honey to make this a hinged door. It’s all storage under there and that is the end of a long, creepy, spidery tunnel. A door on this side would prevent traversing it EVER AGAIN! Dryer vent lost it’s cage. Probably in Wyoming about now.

photo

To the far left is the door on the creepy tunnel. Don’t you think it makes sense? Tell Honey you think it makes sense in the comments!

photo

Bring on the stain, and not a moment too soon!!!!!

Unfortunately, it is supposed to rain for the rest of the week. Maybe we will get to it next week.

3 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    June 17, 2014 at 8:58 AM

    I repainted our wooden deck last year with DeckOver. It turned out well and seems to have held up well through the winter. Now that we have sunshine, we’ll see how furniture treats it. We have a cement area in the back that needs redoing — I painted it last year with some stuff that was suppose to make it non-slippery. It looked good and was not slick but did not hold up well through the winter. But, truth be told, it is an area of great use and we had to put de-icer on it and shovel a lot.
    Let me know how the DeckOver holds up on cement and if it is slippery. That may have to be my next solution.

  2. Robin said,

    June 18, 2014 at 7:17 AM

    I think the hinged door is a great idea. Hey Honey…it makes sense! (How was that?)!

  3. warrenp94 said,

    June 18, 2014 at 1:12 PM

    We’ve debated using that cover-up stuff…it looks great and I can’t wait to hear how it holds up!


Leave a Reply

