Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, it’s good to be back Hodgepodging! Thank you to Joyce for hosting us every week and we hope she enjoyed her week off!

1. Since you weren’t Hodgepodging last Wednesday, how did you pass the time?
I got caught up blogging about the family wedding we attended the end of May.

2. What’s the first word that comes to mind when I say marriage? Yes, one word.

Honey. Sorry, but that’s who I’m married to!
3. Summer officially arrives in the Northern hemishpere later this week. Does it feel like summer where you live? Describe your idea of the perfect summer day.

It is totally summer up here in The Mitten! We have had some very beautiful days but right now it is full on HOT and HUMID. And thunderstormy.

The perfect summer day would have to involve a certain degree of inactivity, something fun to do, good food, and my People. Maybe ice cream. Possibly cards.

4. "Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability."(Sam Keen) Is laziness ever respectable? Do you have a lazy summer planned, or something semi-ambitious?

A little lazy is ok, it’s when lazy crosses over the line to slothful, and for a long period of time. That’s kind of not respectable.

We always have a lot of work to do in the summer and this year is no different. Staining the deck, carpeting the ramp in the garage, heck, the whole garage needs some attention. Honey would like to get the landscaping lights all put back, they were joophered up in The Sewer Debacle and have never gotten put back where they belong. Ford Motor Company is in model launch this summer and Honey has been working way too many hours. There will hopefully be some lazy mixed in there though.  
5. Past or present, who’s your favorite television dad? Why is he a favorite? Is he anything like your own dad?

Cliff Huxtable (The Cosby Show) probably is the closest to Honey so I will pick him. Loves his people and a LOT of fun! Plus the added bonus of loving, clever and down to earth.

6. June 18th is International Picnic Day…share a favorite picnic memory.

Picnics will always remind me of my Great Aunt Mary. She loved a good picnic and was always saying “we need to have a picnic!”. It seemed like there were many in my childhood, lots of aunts, uncles and cousins. Looking back, I think Aunt Mary just liked being with her people, a picnic was just the excuse to gather! She was right though, we don’t all gather anymore. Hoovers! We need to have a picnic!!!!!

7. The travel site Trip Advisor lists the top five islands in the world for 2014 as- Ambergris Caye in Belize Cayes, Providenciales in Turks and Caicos, Bora Bora in French Polynesia, Marco Island Florida, and Lewis and Harris in The Outer Hebrides (Scotland). Have you been to any of these? Of those listed (and if price were not a factor) which would you most like to book for a holiday?

I have only been to Marco Island. I would be happy to go to any one of them!!!!!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Way Back When-sday

June 14 would have been my Grandmother Georgia’s 101 birthday. She passed away in 1992. It doesn’t seem possible that someone who invested so heavily in my life and fills so much of my memory, has been missing for that long.

Christmas Eve 1954 with her son, my Uncle Bob.

IMG_0004

She was a wonderful cook, and always in very small kitchens! Sure wish I had that gene!

IMG_0007

March 1957. Grandma Georgia and Grandpa Horace.

IMG_0001

She was born in a different era and had a completely different life. From growing up poor, to the backbreaking labor of farm work, starting her family during the depression, relocating from Tennessee to Detroit in search of a better life for her family, even though it meant separation from her dearly loved “down home” people. She managed struggles and heartache by the bushel. She left an example to follow, a legacy of family, faith, friendship and fun.

Spring 1956, she looks like she is going to church. She always looked so pretty.

IMG_0003

I have certainly had the blessing of strong Christian women in my life. Living embodiments of the verse John 16:33.

"I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world."

IMG_0005

And she did take heart. She did not live like one who had suffered the trials she had gone through. She was generous and kind, a friend to so many and a faithful servant to her Lord and Savior. She lived with joy and a spirit of good humor. In the years since her passing many people have told me how much they miss her, what a wonderful lady she was.

With her granddaughter Lindsay.

IMG

Easter Sunday 1984 in Venice, Florida.

IMG_0006

She was always cutting out inspirational things to reflect on. I have several envelopes full down in a cedar chest she gave me marked poetry-don’t throw away!. She believed this, and lived her life accordingly.

IMG_0011

And this. I can tell how she aspired to live by the things she cut out.

IMG_0010

She has been having the time of her life up in heaven these last 22 years. It was very common in the church I grew up in to speak about seeing those who will greet you on arrival in heaven. While I believe wholeheartedly that I will see my loved ones again, I don’t really know what that time will be like, theologically speaking. But in my finite mind, I picture her standing there, welcoming me with tears and a hug, the both of us sitting down to her yummy banana pudding and her asking, “well, Kelly, tell me what you know!”. I will show her a picture of my family and tell her of each one, she would have loved our babies. We would talk and talk of our lives and our love for one another and for our Lord, who gave us life, grace, joy and the ability to persevere.

Today I go way back to remember my grandmother’s life.

Have a good week!

6 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    June 18, 2014 at 9:21 AM

    I believe that, someday, a grandchild will write something just as beautiful about you.

  2. jodaley said,

    June 18, 2014 at 2:17 PM

    Well I love the clippings. Our future grandkids will have to scroll thru email files I suppose. Not the same at all!

  3. shortybear said,

    June 18, 2014 at 6:45 PM

    Precious tribute to your grandmother.

  4. June 18, 2014 at 8:04 PM

    Your grandma sounds like an amazing woman. Thanks for sharing all the pictures of her…I really enjoyed looking at them and seeing the homes and clothing from different times.

  5. June 18, 2014 at 8:25 PM

    What a sweet and wonderful tribute to your grandma. She sounds like a wonderful Christian woman!

  6. Robin said,

    June 18, 2014 at 10:29 PM

    So sweet! And I love the picture of your mom in the background on the end table. She looks like a movie star! And what a great memory of our Aunt Mary and her picnics. Usually at Bell Creek park if I remember correctly. She liked to play “Lawn Jarts” (I think they were outlawed!). If you have a Hoover picnic/reunion again….count me in. And Jennae too. She says she’s not missing the next one!


Leave a Reply

