Trailwood Garden Walk 2014 Part 2

Back to the gardens! After the deluge, the weather straightened up and did not threaten again. I was glad. I don’t think my hair could have absorbed any more humidity. It seemed huge….and felted.

I think this next house was my favorite. I loved the previous ranch with the big back porch, but this backyard is closer to what we have in our backyard. Namely, a pool.

I was also excited to go back to this house because Keelyody and I walked past their gates for years. It looked like a giant park back there with a driveway so long you couldn’t see the house. That driveway was 1/4 mile long, we were SO happy they didn’t make us park at the road! There were cars lining that driveway! 

In the informational paper it said the homeowners plant 40 flats of annuals each year!!!!! The homeowners were risk takers, they had a ton of impatiens. Aren’t they practically poisonous these days? What exactly IS the deal with the impatiens? Will we ever be able to use them again????

048

Their impatiens and begonias were plentiful and planted very close together, it must be a sight to behold later in the summer when they are lush!

071

I don’t recollect ever seeing this color coneflower. Or yarrow.

049

We walked under a giant covered area in front of the garage where the garden club was set up. They were selling cookbooks, yard stuff and perennials. I was very glad to see that a bunch of hyacinth bean were still available. Winter came on so fast last fall that I never got out to collect my beans from last year so I could replant! One of the gardners there suggested I start my beans in the house early so they will be much bigger when I plant them. This sounded like advice I had maybe been given by Mrs. Schmenkman in the past. Pretty sure I had heard, then forgotten this tidbit. Maybe I can write the info on my April calendar in hope of actually achieving my dream of having the vines meet at the top of the trellis. So far, they have remained separate. They never knew there was another plant, just waiting to be best friends. Sad, but true.

Then on to the backyard! Oh MY!

053

I wished Honey could see this one!

055

The Back Door Neighbor and I usually move as a unit, taking the same pictures. We have like minds! That could be alarming for her, I am used to my mind.

054

We both saw this poking out of the shrubbery. I feel like that at the pool some days!!!

056

Yes, yes I do.

057

One of my favorite parts about the pool area was there was a place for the water to go when you hose off your patio. They did have some borders, but then there were some open beds. We have a few trouble areas on our patio, but we fixed one when we got the new cement. I have an idea that I need to tell Honey about. I’d better do it before I forget.

058

Loved the rock wall, that held the hot tub.

059

Another one of those areas I just mentioned.

060

They landscaped their sloping hills so nicely.

061

Pretty pot. I love the Wandering Jew. I had one a couple years ago and it was my precious.

063

Every year there is a plant that we want to know the name of, we learn the name, forget the name, and ask what was that name again? This was it for this year. I just had to iMessage The Peanuts Champ to find out the name again! She said Montana Bluette!!!!! We liked it!

064

Loved the rock wall. I like rocks. Big ones, not the little ones we had to move a TON of a couple years ago.

065

A better view of the hot tub for Honey.

066

Visually interesting tree.

067

With visually interesting bark!

068

I was very glad to finally see this house we have walked past and wondered about!

And on to the last house. They had lots of evergreens and other green things, and a purty reddish smoke tree!

073

A walk down, edged with knockout roses. I would like to have some knockout roses. And some more evergreens. I am very fond of the ones we have, would like to add to the herd.

074

Capri Kel and The Peanuts Champ, by a very interestingly colored something or other!

077

Purple in the middle, blue on the edges. Magnificent! God’s paintbrush!

079

Very colorful, I like that!

080

Cute little things nestled in all the green.

082

Look at those evergreens, GLORIOUS!!!

084

This retaining wall reminds me of the one Honey built for me, love it!!!

085

This house had an illusive kitty-witty with a beautimous tail! It led me on a merry meander before it posed its sassy self for this picture.

099

So there you have it, the gardens of 2014!

Thanks to Barb and Tammy for making it so much fun!

4 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    June 27, 2014 at 5:38 AM

    “God’s paintbrush” is a Delphinium. 🙂
    All beautimous gardens… thanks for the cyber version of the tour.

  2. Laurie said,

    June 27, 2014 at 8:00 AM

    What a BEAUTIFUL way to spend a day.

  3. Barb said,

    June 27, 2014 at 1:36 PM

    Thanks for taking pictures and writing such a nice recap of our day!

  4. Back said,

    June 28, 2014 at 2:50 PM

    What a fun afternoon! I am so glad to have shared it with you two!!


Leave a Reply

