Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by this star spangled Hodgepodge! If you would like to join up, click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s.

1.  Speaking of 180…when was the last time you ‘did a 180’ on something?

Ummm, yesterday afternoon? I had a free morning to plant today, so yesterday I went to a neighboring produce store, that also has plants and trees and shrubs. Fully intending to buy some things for Honey to make his yummy salsa with, and to get some knock out roses and maybe a couple cool hosta. I was not expecting that there were so many different varieties  of knockout roses, with a variety of prices. The ones that looked the best to me and had a price I felt I could live with, only came in pink. I guess I was hoping for red, since the hydrangeas I am planting them next to are pink. I decided to wait and read up on all the different varieties, so I will be informed whenever I go to buy again. I will also ask Schmenky for help. Schmenk???

Next up, cool hosta. Unfortunately I did not see any of the kind I was looking for and the prices for the ones I didn’t want were WAY too high.

I came with big plans, bought the salsa stuff and left. 180.

2. It’s Independence Week in the US of A! What’s your favorite thing about America right this very minute? Favorites only! Let’s hear what you love about America.
If you’re playing along today, and you’re not an American but have been to America, what do/did you like best about this country? If you’ve never been to America, do you have any desire to visit? What’s the number one thing you’d like to see?

Freedom. When I hear about a lot of the things going on in the world right now, freedom is very appealing.  Freedom to worship as you choose, access to food and water, live where you want, heck, just LIVE your life in relative safety and choice. And if you don’t like where you are, the ability to move along. I choose freedom. America is far from perfect, but it is far better than many.
3. Stars or stripes? Red, white, or blue? Watermelon, homemade vanilla ice cream, or blueberry pie?

Stripes, blue and homemade vanilla ice cream please.
4. When did you last see stars, figuratively speaking?

I know I have done it, but nothing is coming to mind!. I did hit my shin on a retaining wall over Memorial Day weekend. Hit it so hard I was unsure if I should throw up or sit down and cry. But no stars.
5.  ‘Clear as a bell’, ‘with bells on’,  ‘lots of bells and whistles’, ‘saved by the bell’…which phrase ‘rings’ truest for you lately?  Have you ever seen The Liberty Bell?

I will say our weekend plans are now clear as a bell! There was some back and forth, a little uncertainty and a tiny bit of begging, but we are all settled now.

I have never seen the Liberty Bell. I’ll bet my friend Warren would like to lick it though! I guess that’s a thing.
6. Are you caught up in World Cup fever? Have you watched a lot or a little or none at all?

CHERYL. I DO.NOT.CARE. I’m sorry, I can’t. But by all means, enjoy yourselves!

7. Bid farewell to June in 10 words or less.

Hmm, just like homiletics! After the Polar Vortex, we certainly enjoyed all June offered!!!!!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Now about those weekend plans, welcome to the Way Back part of the post. We are heading back to 1998 and up to my Uncle Bob and Aunt Phyllis’ cottage. They have owned this place for over 30 years. It didn’t always look like this, they bought as a small brown cottage, tore it down, and made this beautiful, light and fun place!

Our children loved to go to the cottage and evidently still do, because we are coming from different places to all gather there once again. It is so peaceful on the lake. Bob and Phyllis keep saying they should sell it, but we are secretly glad they haven’t. Well, now publicly glad.

This is the back, facing Gun Lake, named so because Al Capone had a hide away on the other side and dumped some guns in the lake to avoid getting caught with them. Al would not recognize the place these days, it’s grown up a little. But his place is still there.

IMG_0004

There is lots to do there, but the lounging is great fun too!

IMG

Our kids loved the jet skis, oh my goodness did they ever! Between Honey, Beeve and Uncle Bob, they had a taxi service going.

IMG_0001

Even when they weren’t running, they were practicing.

IMG_0002

Or patiently waiting for their turn. I love this picture, it says so much without even a facial expression.

IMG_0003

More practice. I guess only The Boy was practicing, with his girls on the back!

IMG_0005

Looks like Beeve and Stacey were here this year. This is WAY pre Goomba!

IMG_0006

They also had a trampoline!

IMG_0007

GREAT FUN!!

IMG_0008

Here they are with Girl Cousin Lindsay, looking like a starlet!

IMG_0009

Mousey still likes to hang around with her Uncle Bob. She says they are fun!

IMG_0011

Lots of times we were there with my Mom and Dad, who seems to have been busy during all the picture taking.

IMG_0010

The swing is gone, as are the jet skis. I haven’t seen the trampoline in ages either. My Mom is gone too.

We are heading up there again this weekend for the Fourth of July fireworks. I am anticipating a big time of visiting, eating, boating and cards and games. If there is one thing I have learned, it is that I am glad I took a lot of pictures. Even though some people complain and think it is annoying. These pictures are treasures.

So we will be there this weekend, with bells on!

Have a wonderful holiday.

3 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    July 2, 2014 at 9:53 AM

    People always complain about the picture taking, but they want pictures. Can’t have it both ways, right? The lake house looks like a fun get-away. Enjoy your 4th!

  2. April said,

    July 2, 2014 at 11:38 AM

    I take a lot of pictures, too…so happy I have through the years! The cottage looks like a wonderful place full of warm memories!

  3. Laurie said,

    July 3, 2014 at 9:09 AM

    Happy freedom day to you and yours


Leave a Reply

