Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Can you believe it is the middle of July?? Where is this summer getting to? Thanks for Hodgepodging with us and thanks to Joyce for giving us something to talk about!

1. The month of July was named for Roman Emperor Julius Caesar. He’s quoted as saying, ‘Experience is the teacher of all things." So what has experience taught you lately?

This summer I have been reflecting a lot on where I was last summer and have realized how thankful I am to a really good God. I had a very heavy soul last year for several reasons, and some of the heaviness seemed permanent and unsolvable. Some situations were well beyond my control or pay grade, adding weight to my already dragging heart.

I spent a lot of time praying, thinking, marinating and having conversations in my mind. I know that God is in control of all things, that He has a plan for our future, that He loves us with an everlasting love, that all things work together for our good, but it didn’t feel good. It felt like the opposite of good.

Throughout my life I have gathered extensive experience dealing with unexpected things that you don’t want, but this time it felt like I was covering all new ground. God decided to work in my heart and mind in new, unexplored ways. I learned a new kind of dependence on Him. I realized, yet again, that His plan for my life is best despite all my turmoil. He took me to task in some areas and justified me in others. He helped me to walk with others around craters in blown up roads. Reminded me over and over that nothing was too hard for Him.

Time and time again He showed me many things in His Word. On time Bible study lessons to prick my spirit or calm my heart. He sent good friends to listen and pray and comfort, and assure me I had not lost my mind.

This year in BSF we studied the book of Matthew. This was one of my favorite verses.

Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

I was weary, I was burdened, I longed for rest for my soul and for the souls of dearly loved ones. With all my thrashing, it was hard to get the yoke on, but God is an excellent partner to pull with. I have much to learn from His gentle and humble heart.

I am not going to say that every sadness is gone, that every loose string has been neatly tired up, that I don’t ever struggle with the hurt, memory and residue of last year, but the experience has taught me much.

2. Where did you last ‘roam’?

I roamed around Target and Kohl’s by myself on Monday night! It was rather pleasant!
3. Speaking of ‘Rome’…pizza, pasta, gelato…you can only pick one, which would you choose?

Probably pizza because I can’t imagine a world without it. I do like gelato though, like The Barone’s.
4. ‘Rome wasn’t built in a day’, ‘All roads lead to Rome’, ‘When in Rome…’ which ‘Roman’ idiom have you most recently encountered? Explain.

Rome wasn’t built in a day describes my whole life. Everything is always in fits and starts, wait, wait, wait, HURRY HURRY HURRY! You feel like you are making progress, then things stop and you wait patiently for the next move, or you are all jammed up at the end. I just go with the flow, do what I am able. Progress is good!

A good illustration of this exact thing is our backyard patio/deck situation. We had plans to paint the concrete patio right off the doorway, then Honey needed to replace some boards on the deck and do some general repair before we sanded and re-stained the almost nekkid wood. We did repair and paint the patio on Father’s Day (which we are really liking!) and Honey got as far as buying the wood for the deck repairs. But then his work schedule got all weird and inconveniently stole any scrap of free time he might have. Someone asked me how he was the other day and I said he doesn’t really live here right now, he only sleeps here. In the meantime, I have been watering and walking around the stacked boards now residing under the covered part of the patio. So, do you see what I mean about Rome? We will finish…..someday.
5. What’s a movie you’ve seen or a book you’ve read, that makes you want to book a trip to Italy?

I saw Letters To Juliet with the Girls a few years ago and it had a lot of pretty views of Italy. Vineyards, cobblestone streets, kind of how I had pictured it.
6.  Walt’s original Disneyland opened almost sixty years ago, on July 17, 1955  Have you ever been to the California park? How about any of the other Disney parks around the world? What’s your favorite amusement park ride or attraction?

I evidently have been to Disneyland, but I was an infant, so there is no recollection.
I have been to Walt Disney World in Florida several times, and retain some of the recollections from there! When I was a girl, my favorite attraction was The Carousel of Progress.

 Disney - Walt Disney's Carousel of Progress

I loved seeing all of the ages, especially the future one. I don’t think they even have it anymore, we have probably already passed up that technology!

CoPfinal

7. It’s that time of year…when were you last bitten or stung?

I have never been stung in my life! I have been bitten by mosquitoes, but they don’t like me that much. I don’t even know that I have been bitten this year.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida in 1993. The Ab-Cat was 4, The Boy was 2. This was pre Mousey.

Love Abby laughing and The Boy rocking his Genie shirt and mandals!

IMG

Little Abby in Cinderella’s castle.

IMG_0001

Thanks for stopping by, enjoy your Wednesday!

6 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    July 16, 2014 at 7:24 AM

    Progress, yes…where’s my flying car? : ) We’re definitely on the same page with #1. I’m feeling like mine is still a little too raw to blog, even in generalities, but I have been journaling and that has helped me capture some of my feelings about it all.

  2. July 16, 2014 at 8:46 AM

    I so enjoyed and appreciated your answer to #1.

  3. deb said,

    July 17, 2014 at 7:20 AM

    I can too relate to #1. That looks like a mosaic behind Ab, its pretty amazing!

  4. Vickie said,

    July 17, 2014 at 2:21 PM

    When in Rome, do as the Romans do. my favorite. Don’t move here ~then stink up the place cooking your stinky food, that makes me gag every night. And I don’t want to see you sleeping in your hammock in your garage. Americans don’t do that (sleep in their garage). If you like our country don’t change it into the country you are trying to escape FROM. there I said it. let the haters hate me. I just don’t care.

  5. July 24, 2014 at 1:32 PM

    WDW STILL has the Carousel of Progress in the Magic Kingdom. It gets VERY light traffic so I suppose that they will take it out someday. 😦 It’s a great place to cool off and get off your feet while in the park. Maybe that’s why it’s still there! They had the audacity to change the song from when I was a kid (also what my Lauren remembered from her childhood). I remember the song going, “Now is the time / Now is the best time / Now is the best time of our lives …” I don’t like the “NEW” song nearly as well. Here’s the Wikipedia link that has more information than anyone probably ever wanted to know: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walt_Disney's_Carousel_of_Progress

  6. Nan C said,

    July 27, 2014 at 10:44 PM

    As Rae Babe said, the Carousel of Progress is still in Disney World, AND I believe they attempt to update the technology stuff. I remember being there when they had yet-to-be small boxes that cooked food using microwaves (remember when Amana called “radar wave” ovens?). That kind of stuff is obviously not there anymore.


Leave a Reply

