Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by! If you would like to join us just click the button below and head over to Joyce’s to link up.

1. When I look at the sky I feel________________________________________.
Small in comparison. That God has created a really big world. Our God is a wonderful Maker.

2. If you had to run for political office, which one would you run for? Do you have any real desire to actually do this?

I would never in a million years ever want to do that!!!!!
3. What scent makes you think of home?

Of the home I grew up in or my home now?

I would say coffee reminds me of the home I grew up in. My Mother liked to entertain, so coffee reminds me of company.

I think our home smells like…..food.

4. How often do you take a step back to think about where you’re headed in life? Do you need more or less self-reflection?

I don’t think I mull this incessantly, but it does come up in thought. Especially now that we are coming up on Honey’s retirement. I don’t really like a lot of change and it feels like we are coming up on some. 
5. July is National Ice Cream Month…besides a cone, what’s your favorite food item to top with ice cream?
Strawberries in sauce. Or Sanders Hot Fudge sauce.

6. What might your autobiography be called?

 I Didn’t See That Coming. Story of my life.
7. Your least favorite mode of transportation? Why?

In the backseat of a small car. Because I am a tall girl, and Ugghhh, not comfortable!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

We had a fun weekend! Since we didn’t travel to Chicago to visit The Boy and The Dane, they traveled up to The Mitten by train. That was a first for them and they said they liked it, except for the delays. I think if we were to travel to Chicago, other than driving ourselves, we might choose the train. I feel like I might be able to read on a train, as opposed to not being able to read on a bus or car.

We made egg rolls, homemade ice cream ( black licorice, which sounds truly heinous to me but they LOVED, and strawberry), saw the new Planet of the Apes movie (good), went to a Tigers game (lost), ate out, played some cards, did a little shopping, went to church, made chicken cordon bleu, watched some Netflix, and hit up The Value World with a handy dandy 50% off entire order coo-pin.

The Tiger game was a mixed bag. I don’t mind the Tigers or baseball. BUT, it drizzled almost the entire game and it was a very unexciting game. I usually try and stay away from the Tigers because I am bad juju for them. I have been banished from the room because they start to lose when I arrive. Sorry Boys. I had the thought several times of what am I doing at a sporting event in the rain??? I spent a lot of the game formulating a plan for if I ever went to another game. I would wear my hair up so I wouldn’t have to deal with wet bangs or felting hair, I would have a hat to keep raindrops off the glasses, and I would remember an umbrella. The whole day was damp.

It was the first time I had ever been to Comerica Park. I had previously only caused them to lose at the old Tiger Stadium. This stadium was a much bigger deal than that stadium. Mousey had a bachelorette party to go to so Elyk joined us for the day.

IMG_2650

It was fun to people watch. I am a little bit amazed at what some folk consider baseball appropriate attire, but mostly it was a sea of navy and orange. All of our people represented. While I did not have a shirt promoting the Tigers, it was the right color orange, so I felt ok about that.

These two looked like Tiger fans.

 

IMG_2647

I think the next time we gals will let the guys go it on their own. Except for The Ab-Cat, she will want to go, she is a big fan certain Tigers!

Thanks for stopping by!

6 Comments

  1. Tammy Doane said,

    July 23, 2014 at 6:55 AM

    Catchy autobiography title-most of us don’t see it coming (lol). Sounds like a great weekend.

  2. Judy said,

    July 23, 2014 at 7:14 AM

    Not a big baseball fan since they changed our baseball field to a roofed stadium. There is something about watching the game in a real field.

  3. jodaley said,

    July 23, 2014 at 9:33 AM

    Ha-love your book title! I’m almost certain you’re not the reason the Tigers lose : ) Glad you had a nice visit with the ‘kids’.

  4. rachel koekstat said,

    July 23, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    Glad they came for a visit We will have to get together someday

    Did you give our wedding card to them I cant remember if you ever said miss you all of you are in my prayers

  5. deb said,

    July 23, 2014 at 8:29 PM

    Your comment about least favorite mode of transportation brought back memories of driving to Virginia in the back seat of a pickup truck, and about hiding you in the back for the surprise!

  6. warrenp94 said,

    July 24, 2014 at 3:32 PM

    I feel bad for anyone having to sit through a baseball game in good weather let alone bad weather. Still, a bad day at the ball park beats a good day at work most every time!


Leave a Reply

