The Tampa Contingent

We saw some familiar faces on Tuesday!!! My Uncle Frank and Aunt Ava were in The Mitten with their daughter Girl Cousin Lynn and her grandson Riley. They live in Tampa. Where it’s HOT. They like to come to Michigan in August for a break. It certainly is a break this year, what up August??

Girl Cousin Kay lives here, but I am always glad to see her and hug her neck too!

Here are the ladies, Aunt Ava, Girl Cousin Kay and Girl Cousin Lynn.

002

GC Kay was showing her Mom the fine art of taking a selfie. It’s all Greek to Aunt Ava, she doesn’t even have a computer. And she is ok with that thank you very much!!!!! In full disclosure, I did lift some of these pictures from GC Kay’s Facebook.

photo

Now these gals know full well how it’s done!

photo

GC Lynn had bought the cutest Vera Bradley purse while she was here. Why didn’t I take a picture of that? Since she is a super crafty girl, we wondered why she would buy what she could probably make? She then confessed that she had bought it to refer to it when she possibly made some!!! I smell Christmas presents.

Uncle Frank was looking all handsome in his brand spanking new New Balance shoes. I told him they were my favorite walking shoes.

003

Riley was showing me how he keeps himself occupied when all the talking is going on. Games, all about whale tails and zombies. It was good he had an out because this side of the family? We excel at all the talking. No such thing as too much verbiage.

photo

Everyone was telling me that he had been sporting this hat for the entire trip. His Grandma had taken him to get his haircut just before they left. I am guessing he didn’t cotton to it. I also told him that his “Do not pinch” t-shirt was really just like an invitation to pinch. I never consider pinching anyone in my everyday life, but I was tempted to pinch him. He might want to rethink that command before he enters the 8th grade in a couple weeks.

004

We discussed many things from many different times in our lives but we lingered on this camp a while.

photo

Our church used this camp all my growing up years. My Mom, Beeve and I used to join other church families for a week of Family Camp in the summer. Good old Camp Chautauqua in Ohio!!! Because we had no camping stuff, we stayed on cabin row. I remember my Mom always brought a candle to try and smoke the “camp” smell out of the room. Tiny little cabins, but at least we had a potty!

Frank and Ava, along with the Girl Cousins and my 1st grade Sunday School teacher Mrs. Zimmerman (that was a new fun fact!), used to take their pop up camper down as well.

The reason it came up is because GC Kay is a youth leader at her church and they still head down there every summer! We talked about how it used to be, which is a far cry from how it is now. There was reminiscing about the food, the Olympic sized swimming pool (still there), me seeing my first dragon flies there, Uncle Frank barricading some friends inside their cabin, forcing them to exit out a window, and their subsequent unwelcome addition of much salt to his coffee! He said he never acted like it was anything other than a delicious cup of morning coffee!

Kay said the accommodations are a huge step up from when I attended as a middle and high schooler. We probably had well over 50 girls in one big room, rickety metal bunk beds in rows, maybe 2 fans, no place but under the bed to store your suitcase full of church clothes, because we were required to wear dresses for the huge amount of time we spent in services!!!! They also expected you to be sport-ally involved. You can imagine how that sat with me and my sport-ally challenged posse.

There were never enough electrical outlets to plug in curling irons, blow dryers and hot rollers (oh yes, we most certainly DID do our hair) and get this NO AIR CONDITIONING. You can imagine how delightful that was with over 50 sweaty girls and outside the premises bathroom facilities! I might have counted a session or two in the Olympic sized swimming pool as a bath just to avoid the super long wait for the use of maybe 5 morning shower stalls. Just keeping it real.

But you know what? We LOVED it there. If I wore t shirts, I would totally wear that with pride!!!!

photo 

Obligatory group photo, graciously taken by Riley. Actually, it was the only way he could think of to stay out of the picture!

005

Girl Cousins!!!!!. I felt our colors blended nicely! My dress was light green, not that these pictures portrayed it that way.

009

The Original Davis family!

010

Including the boy who did not want his picture taken!

012

And with his sweet Grandma! GC Lynn has another grandson back in Florida, but he is one and needs his Mama.

016

It was wonderful to see the Tampa Contingent, and to meet Riley, who said he hadn’t been to Michigan since he was 9 months old.

I look forward to all the talking and verbiage the next time we meet!

Just a little update on The Boy. He was finally discharged from the hospital very late last night. He will be arriving on the Megabus very late tonight. The last I heard, his counts were 60,00 and he had a very bad headache. I said maybe platelets give him a headache?! Very thankful for the platelets, the discharge and for the University of Michigan squeezing him in on Friday to see his very own Dr. Boxer. Once again, God has His hand on top of that Boy’s head. Thank you for your prayers, and please continue.

3 Comments

  1. Cindy Stratton said,

    August 7, 2014 at 8:34 AM

    Great pics of our girl cousins!

  2. Robin said,

    August 7, 2014 at 6:59 PM

    I agree! Thanks for posting!

  3. warrenp94 said,

    August 8, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    Sorry the Boy’s trip got messed up but he has to be well to travel. He’ll be married a long time so they can do the party later too…stinks though since it was already planned but life is full of fun switcheroos I guess!


Leave a Reply

