Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Howdy! I think it’s been a couple weeks since I have been around, there were reasons, but they have been long forgotten. If you would like to join the Hodgepodgers, click the button below to head over to Joyce’s and link up.

1. The best part of waking up is____________________________________.

Folgers in your cup. Not really but that’s the commercial that popped into my mind! I will have to say I do enjoy that cup of chai. Yep, that’s the best part.

2.  Given a choice, which animal interaction would you most like to experience (or for those non-adventurers…which would you dislike the least?)Swim with the dolphins at one of several locations in the Florida Keys, a lion encounter ten minutes from Victoria Falls (Africa), or a day at a remote base camp high in the Big Sur wilderness via the Ventana Wildlife Society helping track California condors?
I would like to pet a lion, if it was a baby!

3. What is something you fear about ‘old age’? What is something you look forward to?

I fear the once reliable body failing. I look forward to grandchildren!!! I also look forward to retirement with Honey, he works too much!
4. Hot sauce…are you a fan? If you answered yes, what’s something you make/eat that must have hot sauce? On a scale of 1-10 how hot is too hot?

I don’t ever add hot sauce to anything. I like spicy but not really HOT.
5. It’s been said that children learn what they live. What do you think children learn at your house?

I asked Mousey for her answer to this question, she said to wash your hands. I guess I was a stickler on that rule. I think I also strictly enforced a no whining allowed policy, because that gets on my last nerve.

I would also hope they learned to be truthful, you can’t control others behavior, only your own, there are consequences for your actions, try hard, be responsible, to have a friend you have to be a friend, reading is FUN-DA-MENTAL, be nice, no hitting or spitting, no fighting or biting, be nice to the kitty, DON’T TOUCH TREES in Florida, (family joke), DON’T TOUCH CAKES (Boy joke), a little humor makes life a lot easier, sometimes you have to make the best of a bad situation (lots of times), people need the Lord, ask Jesus for help, at some point you have to make your faith your own, and you are infinitely loved and cherished.

There’s way more, but that will do for now.
6. What’s your favorite movie with a number in it’s title?

Ocean’s Eleven, is a clever favorite, the one with Clooney and gang. 13 Going on 30 is so sweet. 42 is so inspirational. And  2012 is a guilty pleasure. No one could have survived all that!
7. Saturday (August 16th) is National Tell a Joke Day…share one here.

The only one I can think of off the top of my head is a vintage Mousey joke. “Why did the cookie go to the hospital?” Because it felt crumby!!!” It was her first told joke, she was probably about 3. She said hossible instead of hospital and we still pronounce it that way to this day.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the day.

Mousey, around the age of her famous first joke telling!!!

photo

Thanks for stopping by, enjoy your week!

3 Comments

  1. warrenp94 said,

    August 13, 2014 at 11:20 AM

    The Folgers thing would be my first reaction too…funny but I don’t think they even advertise much on tv any more…and certainly not with that slogan…our poor kids…they don’t get the cool things we know about do they?

  2. Tammy Doane said,

    August 13, 2014 at 3:20 PM

    Folgers is what popped into my mind.

  3. jodaley said,

    August 13, 2014 at 6:26 PM

    I liked your answer to #5-Reading is FUNdamental : ) The rest too, but especially that one. Enjoy your week!


Leave a Reply

