My Favorite Summer Breakfast

I saw this on a blog. Or Pinterest. Or somewhere. But Y’All, it’s good!

Eggs reign supreme in the low carb world. Perfect little protein capsules full of healthy goodness. I like eggs, but I get very weary of eggs.

These pancakes are as easy as can be. They incorporate eggs, without being eggs! Just add a lone ripe banana to a couple eggs, and there you have it, BREAKFAST! Of course, other added things are nice too.

photo

Here’s what I do. Add a little coconut oil to a fry pan and set to medium. You might not need the oil, but I am trying to use coconut oil when I can because it is supposed to be almost miraculous. Then you mash up a banana. This is a great way to use up the bananas no one will eat because they have spots on them. My family is especially lame about this. If you were making the two ingredient recipe, you would add the eggs at this point, stir vigorously with a fork, add some salt (still eggs and they need salt!) and fry up like regular pancakes. They are thin and can be difficult to flip, but no one’s going to prison over some strange looking pancakes.

In an effort to make them a little more sturdy without adding flour or other high carb-y things, I added a tablespoon of peanut butter to the mashed banana. It mixed up better to add it before the eggs. I have also added vanilla extract and even some chia seeds, just for variation. I don’t recommend using crunchy peanut butter. I know some pancakes have walnuts, but I thought the peanuts were weird. Just my observation.

Have you seen this? We are fans of many of the flavors but I had never seen this one. It made a nice variation!

photo

Yesterday I used a little sugar free maple syrup and that was yummy as well. Go on, give them a whirl!

Going to The Value World this afternoon with my friend Sandra to use the last of the 6 half off your entire purchase coo-pins for the summer of 2014! I can’t remember if she said she has never been to The World or if she hasn’t been in years. But she is no stranger to thrifting. She is a seasoned Salvation Army warrior, fully capable of black belt frugality!

I reminded her they do not have dressing rooms at The World, it is their biggest flaw. I have been wearing skirts with bike shorts underneath, so as not to frighten the population whilst I try on capris, skorts and pants.

To my surprise, I have actually decided that I can wear skorts in my everyday life. I have worn them for years as walking attire instead of shorts. Years ago I decided shorts are dead to me, and it was a good call. The difference is I have been finding longer skorts, and also stretchier fabrics. I have no desire to wear a skort that is as short as shorts, or is made of constricting fabric. Why would I ever want to do that?

It’s all part of my never ending quest to find comfortable clothing for my hindquarters. I am getting worse about my intractability on this subject. Claustrophobic really. Comfort must be queen in e.v.e.r.y. article of my clothing. Shoes included.

Wish us luck!

3 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    August 14, 2014 at 11:16 AM

    Those look pretty good… will have to give them a whirl. But bananas are pretty carby.
    Good luck thriftin!

  2. caprilis said,

    August 17, 2014 at 4:46 AM

    Made these this morning, added peanut butter, chia seeds, a handful of ground almonds and a tablespoon of ground flax … very tasty!

  3. warrenp94 said,

    August 19, 2014 at 11:15 AM

    I have never tried nutella…someday I guess I should do that…It’s a pretty mixed bag in our house regarding flavored cream cheeses…but I bet nutella might pass muster!


Leave a Reply

