Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! I am late to the party, but glad to finally be here! Thank you to Joyce for faithfully giving us something to discuss each week!

1. As August draws to a close, share what’s been your favorite weekend of the entire summer?
I can’t even remember the weekends, this question is too hard! We had fun at our cousin’s wedding on May 31, I’ll say that.

2. Labor Day is marked in the US of A on Monday, September 1st.  What paying job have you held that you’ve loved the most? Liked the least?

Hmmmm, another hard one! I have enjoyed aspects of all my jobs, and never really hated any of them. I loved the people at the bank, but never liked it when they were trying to get us to sell services. That’s hard to do at the drive through window!

I liked the people and the work at the salon. That’s where I met Mrs. Schmenkman, and that has certainly been a kiss on the cheek from God, some 27 years later!

I enjoyed waitressing and the communities that went with that. I know people complain about waitressing but I rather liked it. You go in, are busy, do your work, and leave with money in your pocket. Worked for me!

I guess I will say I liked the salon best and Burger King the least.
3. Does the new school year start before or after Labor Day where you live? When do you think it should begin? There is much discussion now about older students having later start times to their school day…your thoughts?

When I was growing up, schools in Michigan always started after Labor Day. When our kids started school, they had changed it to the end of August. At some point towards the end of our time at public school they again changed it back to after Labor Day.I don’t personally have a preference but it feels better to start in September. School starts in the fall. The end of August doesn’t feel like fall.

I have heard the debate about having highschoolers start class later. I know our kids hated catching the bus at 6:30 and the 7:10 start time. Kids that age don’t seem to do their best thinking that early. I have heard the argument that the reason high school starts first was so they could get out first and then be home when the younger kids got out. That never made a ton of sense to me because I didn’t know that many families who had their kids ages strung out that far apart for that to be a necessary thing.

Most kids stay up later, so It would seem that a later start time might be something to look into. Unless they work, it’s not so important to have them back home by 2:30 with the whole rest of the day stretched out before them. I think it’s a worthwhile conversation.

4. What’s something you’ve worked at recently that could be deemed a ‘labor of love’?

I believe I have mentioned that Honey has been working like a dog this entire summer. In an effort to help him out and take something off his already full, around the house, plate, I offered to cut the grass every week. I have cut the grass in the past, never regularly and never often, but it is not a first time activity. I don’t really mind the chore, it is kind of like cutting hair, but as I have also mentioned, I am not a fan of the heat at this faze in my life.

I try and mow early, when it’s cool, and I mow weekly because I am never going to want to bag it! I mainly use the time to pray for my neighbors and whatever concerns I have that day. I have made several observations though.

It’s way easier to cut green grass than dry grass because you can find your lines.

It helps if I think it counts as exercise. I don’t know why, but it does.

I have to blow my nose at the exact same point every week. That’s weird.

I need to keep my mouth closed when cutting. All that exhaust tastes yuckky.

Swing sets are of the devil.

When I am feeling so hot I might combust, it helps if I remind myself that I can jump in the pool after. Just knowing gives me strength.

When I am annoyed that Honey wants me to make 9 rows in the field on the other side of the hedge, as opposed to the 5 rows I feel are necessary, I remind myself that I need to do it his way because the whole point of the project is to take the load off HIM, not make him want to fire up the lawnmower just to cut those last 4 rows. I

It’s a labor of love after all.
5.Which of the following work idioms can you most relate to right now…’A woman’s work is never done.’, ‘All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.’ ‘Many hands make light work.

I am going to claim ‘All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.’  for Honey. His schedule has been hard on him and I know he misses doing fun things with us. I don’t like to do the fun things without him, it makes me sad!
6. Crab or lobster or thanks, but no thanks? Favorite way to have your choice prepared?

Easy one, no thanks.
7. Albert Einstein is quoted as saying, ‘Three rules of work: Out of clutter find simplicity; From discord find harmony; In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.’ Which of the three do you consider to be the most important? Share one of your own ‘rules of work’.

I guess ‘In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity’. Just try and not waste the suffering. Make some dang lemonade.

My work philosophy would be just do it and get it over with, it certainly won’t do itself!. Do I take my own advice all the time? Of course not.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Today is Mousey’s twentieth birthday!!! I know I say it every year, but goodness, HOW CAN THIS BE???

photo 

It seemed like yesterday that she graduated from high school. This is now her last semester before she enters training for radiography.

photo

In some ways she seems so grown up, but she is still our girl.

photo

She loves her friends, sisters Chip and Dale. There were no less than 10,000 pictures on her facebook to choose from!

photo

The sisters are 5 years apart. The gap is closing.

photo

Her favorite brother to laugh with.

photo

She can be very brave in trying new things.

photo

Is single minded in her desire to be a Mama. Goomba was good practice! Soooo big!!!

photo

She is loved ‘to the moon and back’. That is a lot.

photo

She knows a boatload about skin care. We frequently ask for her expertise.

photo

On the left, being silly with Beatrix Potter and Button.

Loves her Pa.

photo

And her Ma.

IMG

And kitties.

photo

Happy birthday baby girl!

6 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    August 27, 2014 at 4:50 PM

    Happy Birthday to Mousey! I liked your long answer to the labor of love question. Sometimes when I’m helping hubs with something I need to remind myself of the same sort of thing : )

  2. caprilis said,

    August 27, 2014 at 5:52 PM

    You make me smile Schmenky. Happy b-day Mousey 🙂

  3. honey said,

    August 27, 2014 at 10:28 PM

    i do appreciate the grass cutting and the nine rows is the only way to go to keep the weeds at bay !!! it is scientifically proven.plus think about the extra calories you are burning.

  4. warrenp94 said,

    August 28, 2014 at 9:59 AM

    Wow! Happy birthday!

  5. Laurie said,

    August 28, 2014 at 12:49 PM

    Happy birthday, Mousey. Wishing you ever so many more.
    I’ve always like a job where I can see immediate results, and lawn mowing fits into that catergory.

  6. "The Boy" said,

    August 30, 2014 at 9:44 PM

    She’s so loved it fills her head with air.


Leave a Reply

