Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, welcome to September! A big thank you to Joyce for steering our Hodgepodge ship! If you would like to join us, click on the button below to link up.

1.  What’s something you wanted to do this summer that you never got around to actually doing?

Oh, there are so many! Our deck is still needing work. Our garage didn’t get cleaned and reorganized, or the new carpet squares laid on the ramp. My hair/craft room didn’t get its makeover. Oh well.
2. Share a favorite memory of your own back -to-school days as a child.

The memory that is strongest is getting new shoes! It seemed super important to start the year off right! Finding just the right pair seemed like a huge decision!
3.  What’s one chore or daily task you prefer doing ‘old-school’ ?

I make my morning cup of chai using a tea kettle instead of the microwave?
4.  Share something you’ve learned in life through the ‘school of hard knocks’.

I have learned a LOT in that institution. I will give you this example, because it filled almost my entire day yesterday. I can talk to insurance companies, hospitals, nurses and doctors offices like nobody’s business. Its a skilled trade, honed from many years of experience advocating for a couple of our kids, who took turns refining it. It requires patience and perseverance. I have my masters and am currently working on my doctorate.
5.  As a child, did you mostly bring or buy your lunch for school? What was your favorite thing to find in your lunchbox?

I probably brought my lunch 95% of the time, in my Barbie or H.R. Puffenstuff lunchbox. It was my great sadness to never own a Lost in Space, Brady Bunch or Partridge Family lunch box. I seem to recall Beeve having a Planet of the Apes lunchbox, wicked awesome!!! They must have not been sold on the years I was able to get a new one. I did switch to brown bags while still in elementary school. Boxes weren’t cool any more.

I think I always wanted to buy my lunch, but didn’t really like it very much when I did. Probably settled to buy it on pizza days. I did buy milkshakes every day in junior high for .35 cents! I can vividly remember waiting in line to buy milk everyday. The price changed through my elementary school tenure, and the most annoying price was 7 cents. You had to fish around in your lunch bag for the nickel AND the two pennies. #firstworldproblems.

It was always a good day when you had a home baked goodie. I can remember licking frosting off the waxed paper on many occasions! My favorite sandwiches were tuna, egg salad, ham and baloney. I have eaten my share of PB and J though. I can remember trading a half of sandwich to a friend for a change of pace, did anyone else ever do that?

Least favorite thing in a lunchbox? Easy, an orange. Hated peeling them, hated eating them. I hate pulp. Blech.
6. Football season is upon us which has me wondering… how big of a sports fan are you (not just football) ? On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being ‘I scream at the players through my television screen‘ and 1 being ‘is knitting a sport?’ where do you fall in fandom? 

I will give myself a 3 and HEY, knitting is TOTALLY a sport! I only give myself those extra 2 points because I can follow a baseball game and I usually am in the room when the Super Bowl is on.
7. Share a favorite quote you think might inspire students of all ages at the start of a new school year.

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Benjamin Franklin

8. I think this is supposed to be the random thought!

I went with The Ab-Cat to the doctor yesterday on a follow up visit about the hives she has been dealing with since last December. He renewed her prescription and told her he wanted to see her again in three months. When she checked out, the gal made her return appointment. Three months is December people!!!! It will be Christmas again in THREE MONTHS! That is ridiculous!

Thanks for stopping by!

7 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    September 3, 2014 at 6:05 AM

    I always make my tea in a kettle. I don’t mind coffee reheated in a microwave, but tea should never see the inside of one! We had the same favorite sandwiches : ) Since we have a wedding the week after Christmas I am watching that countdown pretty closely. Hope your son is feeling better.

  2. Barbara said,

    September 3, 2014 at 7:42 AM

    You have a GREAT sense of humor! Life is always a little easier with a positive attitude. Thanks for brightening my day!

  3. Judy said,

    September 3, 2014 at 8:02 AM

    i still use a kettle on the top of the stove. No electric kettle for me.

  4. Joanne said,

    September 3, 2014 at 8:23 AM

    I watched H.R. Pufnstuf as a kid. I have never met anyone who heard of it. I kept telling people that it was real! haha Thanks for remembering that!

    And I agree… oranges were the worst! Well, that and mealy apples. Ick!

  5. Tammy Doane said,

    September 3, 2014 at 3:04 PM

    Great random thought-exactly right on! I remember the lunch box- Partridge Family, but I don’t ever remember my lunch in this. I think I used the lunch box for just something to carry.

  6. honey said,

    September 3, 2014 at 10:45 PM

    remember when we had to go through the school garbage to find avalons retainer. we learned that the kids now days dont eat their lunch they are throwing all the food out !!! yechhh!!!!

  7. deb said,

    September 4, 2014 at 5:29 AM

    My mom used to occasionally put in those “Little Debbie” baked goods in my lunch. I think they were the cheaper version of Hostess Twinkies. Loved those treats, they always came with two in one wrapper!


Leave a Reply

