Called

Well, this is it. The last day before BSF starts and alters my schedule until May. Planning my week will revolve around those blocked off Wednesday and Thursday mornings from 8 until 12.

I am ok with the change. I love BSF. I love learning what God has to say about our world and my life, I love the ladies. I love serving the Lord there, It’s all good.

Wait, not all good. Sometimes it is hectic, there can be snags, and people will be people.

There is a lot of talk in BSF about being “called”. A lot of folks don’t understand this.

We are called to this ministry, by God, until He calls us out, and He sometimes does that too.

It’s not something we do only when we feel like it. It’s not something we do until something else better comes along.

It’s a calling to serve, a priority. A belief that God has chosen us for this purpose, to do this work. A community of believers, all doing their part, working towards the goal of Bible study so that all members can develop a vibrant relationship with God.

Members who are all welcome, regardless of their church background or affiliation. We talk about what unites us, the Bible and Jesus, not what divides us.

A place for all to learn and grow and deepen our faith in the God who created us and has plans for our future. And our right now.

This year our study is The Life of Moses. Last Wednesday at our workshop Jip mentioned, multiple times, that Moses was not a born leader, he was a called leader.

When God called him to lead his people out slavery in Egypt he basically said I think you have the wrong guy. Moses said that! He asked if someone, anyone else could do it!

I get that. I feel that sometimes God wants me to do things that seem considerably above my skill set, and He surely isn’t asking me to lead a nation out of slavery.

One of my favorite quotes is from a former teaching leader, I call it a Shelia-ism.

If God has called you to it, He will equip you for it.

The life of Moses clearly illustrates this.

I like to learn about God using flawed, imperfect people to do His work. I can relate to flawed and imperfect. I can relate to Moses and his reluctance to feel qualified and capable of the task at hand.

When I was first asked to be on the administration team at BSF, I totally pulled a Moses. I asked who recommended me, because administration is not my strong suit, there must be a misunderstanding, I think you have the wrong gal. I said no.

The no didn’t feel right in my soul. I immediately called back and said I would pray about it. I wanted to be a part of this organization that had meant so much to my spiritual growth. I said I was willing to try.

I think that was all God wanted from me, a willing spirit.

And because I was called to it, He did equip me for it! It is apparent to me every year that I don’t do this work in my own strength, because it isn’t in me! Honey can vouch for that! I don’t have an administrative mind, I am not a detail orientated person, He reminds me, He keeps me on track, He makes me useful!

So here is to another year of being called to serve Him and others! Really, it’s my pleasure.

2 Comments

  1. deb said,

    September 9, 2014 at 7:53 PM

    Just the way commitments and people fell into place, allowing me to attend this year is a calling too!

    • Capri K said,

      September 10, 2014 at 6:32 AM

      EXACTLY! It is a labor of love, and that is a very high calling!


Leave a Reply

