Way Back When-sday Wednesday Hodgepodge

Thanks for stopping by! If you would like to join in, click the button below to head over to Joyce’s and link up!

1. On Thursday we pause to remember a dark day in history-9/11. Will you mark it in some special way?

We usually watch some of the programs that remember the day. The inspiring human stories, any new information that they have discovered. I feel it was a line of demarcation in the history of our country. I will always remember sitting on the couch with Rae Babe watching those towers falling down all day long, just praying for some good news. Our country will never be the same.
2. Do you ever/still…listen to an actual radio? Watch a videotape (VCR)? Look up a number in a phonebook? Refer to a paper map while traveling? Set an alarm on an alarm clock as opposed to your phone?

Honey listens to the ballgame in the car.

We watch the occasional videotape! Goomba likes to rummage around down the basement in our movie closet and he often brings up an oldie but a goodie. When Abby babysits him she always introduces him to one of her favorites. Most recently? Titan A.E. , The Prince of Egypt and Mary Kate and Ashley, How The West Was Fun. He liked them all!

No, I don’t use a phonebook or paper map anymore.

I do use an alarm clock! I rarely need one, it’s more for the extremely rare occasion that I don’t wake up by myself.
3.  Is it ever a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t know?

I’m sure it could be done but you would have to tread very cautiously. I would certainly be praying for God to be with my words! Politics would not typically be my first or fifth line of conversation, but if someone brought it up, and I felt they were genuinely interested in having a real conversation not just spouting off, I would probably participate.

I think I naturally talk about my faith in conversation. Whether they acknowledge it would be up to them.
4. What’s a dish you haven’t eaten all summer, but come September find yourself craving? Have you made it yet this month?

SOUP!!! Not yet, still too warm up here in The Mitten.
5. What’s something you know nothing about?

Ahh, there are so many somethings! Mechanics, hockey, electrical and plumbing, basketball and golf, architecture, The Kardashian’s and the Jersey Shore people, and I’d like to keep it that way, thanks.
6. September is Classical Music Month. Do you like classical music? If so, what’s your favorite piece?

I don’t mind it but I don’t seek it out.
7. What’s the oldest thing you own?

This is one of them. It was in my closet. My Grandmother Georgia gave it to me the year my brother Beeve was born. I was 4 years old.

photo

I looked at this so many times! I loved the illustrations of the bears doing all sorts of family activities. Having a new baby, this was one of my favorite pages.

photo 

photo

I had a pool like that!

photo

Now days this is my favorite part, my Grandma’s handwriting.
photo 

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Today is my Mother’s birthday. She has been gone for 4 years now, but this will always be her birthday. I am thankful that I think of her every day, sometimes more.

IMG

I hear her words and her laughter, running through my mind. I remember her wisdom and joy in life. Happy Birthday Mom, you are right here in my heart.

5 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    September 10, 2014 at 6:22 AM

    The Kardashians! ha-yes I am with you on that one!! Such sweet words about your mom. We never stop needing our mothers. Thinking of you today.

  2. Judy said,

    September 10, 2014 at 8:17 AM

    I love your calendar. What a wonderful memory.

  3. April said,

    September 10, 2014 at 8:24 AM

    Your mom…such a beauty! I know you miss her every single day. My mom passed away in 2000 and I miss her more now than ever before. She was my bestie. That calendar is so neat…love it!

  4. warrenp94 said,

    September 10, 2014 at 2:16 PM

    I don’t like to discuss religion or politics with people I DO know…mainly because they are all wrong I suppose!

  5. Connie said,

    September 13, 2014 at 8:27 AM

    Our answers to number 3 are similar. I love the calendar!! And your Mom looks like a very warm, happy and fun person!


Leave a Reply

