Favor

Guys, I have something to tell you.

We are cautiously, carefully, hopefully optimistic around here.

The Boy and The Dane arrived on the Megabus a week ago last Wednesday night, the former feeling horrible, achy and nauseated, the latter doing what she could to make him comfortable, both feeling the dread of discouragement.

The Boy had been released from the hospital the Sunday before and had spent the next few days going from bed to couch with his cat, with side trips to the bathroom to throw up what little he had managed to eat. He said he had lost about 10 pounds in the previous week. I can’t remember what he said his platelet count was, but it wasn’t good and all the not good numbers have run together now.

He said it was the worst bus ride of his life and getting himself TO the bus stop was even worse. Walking the 15 minutes with his luggage left him weak and shaky. I think he managed to go all 5 hours without incident, and he was thankful.

I didn’t see them until afternoon the next day. We were sitting on the couch talking when he just got up and went to the bathroom and was sick. The Dane said “that’s what he does”.

We talked about his new doctors, two men that they seemed to like, who had been helpful. The Boy had been texting with one while we were visiting. The doctor told him he wanted to try a new drug therapy called WinRho. The Boy had it 10 years ago and the only thing I can remember is it didn’t work and it caused him to throw up. Also, as an afterthought on his last visit, his doctor had done a blood test for something called H Pylori, a bacteria infection that can sometimes trigger ITP.

H. pylori is a spiral-shaped bacterium commonly found in the stomach.

Although it is not known how H. pylori infection is spread, scientists believe it may be contracted through food and water. According to the National Institutes of Health, approximately 20% of people under 40 years old and half of adults over 60 years old in the U.S. are infected, with higher rates in developing countries.

The doctor seemed surprised but said The Boy tested positive! He prescribed three antibiotics for it and a new anti nausea medication.

Can I just tell you that it was a turning point? The new anti nausea medication was awesome! He was careful eating for a day or so and I don’t think he was ever able to enjoy much coffee, but he was never sick again! He ate all weekend long, lots of FOOD!

He seemed better, he was off the couch, they went a few places, he ate salami from his favorite Italian market, chicken Madeira, his Dad’s mac and cheese and quite a few other things, all without incident!

I am pretty sure their bus ride home was much better.

I knew he had an appointment with his doctor on Tuesday. I called on the way home from a new Bible study I am going to at church. The news was alarming. They had started the WinRho and he fairly quickly turned beet read and said his throat started to hurt. He mentioned things like a flurry of people and activity around him and an oxygen mask, and slowing the infusion way the heck down. He was doing better by the time I called and was watching game shows and Rachel Ray with the other patients. He said they had gotten him Boston Market for lunch and given him doughnuts and Diet Coke and generally were very kind to him. I’m telling you, God grants that Boy favor everywhere he goes!

His doctors said they wanted to do this medication once a week for a month. If it didn’t work, I guess then they would do The Brew.

When we messaged later that evening, he said his back was killing him. This was about where I had my own little reaction. Doctors have been FLOODING his poor body with medications since May, with very limited or no success. He is WAY more susceptible to any and all side effects this go round for some strange reason. He has been taking pain medication for 4 months almost continuously. He was suffering. His ITP was seriously out of control.

I have had the thought before, HOW WILL HE LIVE? What will his life be like?

I was sad. And discouraged. And sad again. It was a low point People. I left a note on the counter to tell Honey and the Girls to pray. That was all I knew to do.

I went to BSF the next morning.  I thought I was going about my business as usual, but evidently it showed. Jip the Farm Dog knew. Others thought something awry.

I called The Boy after I left. He sounded better! He then told me something he had neglected to tell me on Tuesday. Before the WinRho infusion, his platelet count was 139,000! HOW DID HE NOT TELL ME THAT???????

His doctor thinks it may have been the H Pylori. He has been on antibiotics for a week now and his counts have risen dramatically, almost to normal!

The last time he had treatment for ITP 10 years ago, he did not go into remission until 5 months after receiving the immune suppressant therapy. Even then, not until after he had been treated for a truly awful ear infection. After two antibiotic treatments for the heinous ear infection, his platelet count inexplicably, slowly returned to normal. Maybe he had H Pylori then too!

Can it be this simple? After all these years and hundreds of thousands of dollars in healthcare and medications???? He can achieve remission with about $20 worth of antibiotics?? All pain free?????

I think I said it a week or so ago, GOD SHOWS UP. Even if this is not completely it, it’s an amazing turn of events! It’s like God dropped the thought into the doctors brain to do this test. The Boy said the doctor’s explanation for doing the blood test was “ it can’t hurt.” That seems like an admission of a flat out Hail Mary pass to me.

His doctor said he wants The Boy to finish the WinRho and has already lessened his dose of Promacta. He predicted that The Boy would have a long remission. He actually said that.

Remember that verse that God has had rolling around in my brain for the last couple of years?

Is anything too hard for the LORD?  Genesis 18:14.

No. No, apparently not.

11 Comments

  1. Pam D said,

    September 29, 2014 at 7:17 AM

    I am so thrilled to read this. I’ve prayed several times for him (as well as for your Wednesdays and Thursdays), and it is a delight to read of God’s favor to him (and therefore, to you!). Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. tam said,

    September 29, 2014 at 8:30 AM

    Just sitting here crying.

  3. Laurie said,

    September 29, 2014 at 9:47 AM

    I’ve been worrying about that boy — so it is wonderful to hear some good news. will keep up with the prayers.

  4. caprilis said,

    September 29, 2014 at 11:56 AM

    Amen! Amen! Amen! This made my day. 🙂

  5. sajdear said,

    September 29, 2014 at 12:01 PM

    God is so good! Thanks for sharing and reminding me of how He is working in Connor’s life.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. Heifer Lynn said,

    September 29, 2014 at 4:57 PM

    Well isn’t that a “thank you, Jesus” moment and an answer to prayer. Rejoicing with you.

  7. Robin said,

    September 29, 2014 at 7:01 PM

    Whoop, whoop! Yay…and thank you Jesus! I am going to a Tuesday Bible Study and this week we had a discussion question about looking for God working in way that can only be explained as “only God!” Can I use this? Thanks…I’m going to! This is great news!

  8. caprilis said,

    September 30, 2014 at 4:38 AM

    This made me so happy yesterday that I re-read it again this morning. I had to laugh at the fact you used a SPORTS term, FOOTBALL no less!!!

    • Capri K said,

      September 30, 2014 at 5:31 AM

      That’s so funny you mention that because I had a line under it I edited out because it seemed out of place! I’ll add it here.

      You may be surprised at my sports terminology, but I have watched all seasons of Friday Night Lights.

  9. jodaley said,

    September 30, 2014 at 3:35 PM

    I’m just now catching up a bit in blogland. So happy to read of the improvement. We have just started our new Bible Study on 1, 2 Thessalonians-Children of the Day (Beth Moore). One thing ran through my mind as I read this post, something we discussed today…she says, ‘Must we hunker down in the cramped limits of the status quo? Or will we welcome Him to do the exceptional when He pleases, to wreck our small notions and loosen our tongues with ‘Who then is this who does such things?’ Love that you are seeing the exceptional! Praying your son continues on the road to good health!

  10. October 1, 2014 at 2:58 PM

    I’ve been trying to catch up on my blogs today and just read this — so many times I have been praying and thinking about your boy. Saw some posts on FB from the Dane and she seemed discouraged as well. It’s great to hear such good news! So, so thankful that this seems to be a turning point! Continued prayers and love sent your way as well, Mama! ❤ God is good all the time, and ALL the time God is good.


Leave a Reply

