Wednesday Hodgepodge

Happy fall Y’All! Thanks for stopping by and thanks to Joyce for keeping us going! If you would like to join, click on the button below, it’s a friendly group!

1. Are the leaves turning color where you live? Have they begun to fall? Will you have to rake when it’s all said and done? Is that a chore you love or loathe? They are and it is delicious! I was just saying to Keelyody on our walk yesterday that I am going to have to bring my camera next time. Today we were noticing all of the different colors on a single tree! I have seen some leaves on the ground but it’s not quite time for that yet.

Honey, Mousey and I usually designate a family rake day at the end of the season. I never want to do it, but I don’t mind it with those two, they are fun. We have discovered a new system in recent years that makes the job easier.
2. When did you last shake like a leaf?

Hmmm, nothing is coming to mind.
3. After 20 seasons with the NY Yankees, Derek Jeter played his last official game Sunday afternoon. Jeter has been described even by opponents as a ‘class act’, both on and off the field. The NFL is back in action this month too, with several players in that sport also making headlines. What are your thoughts on athletes as role models? Should a professional athlete be expected to act as role model or is that going beyond their job description? What responsibility do the organizations these athletes work for have when it comes to dealing with off the field behavior? Discuss.
Well, maybe some of the athletes are not comfortable being active role models, but we should at least expect them not to be criminals! I have to believe the organizations these players are working for must be partially responsible. They set the tone and expectation for how their teams are run, they have the ability to turn a blind eye to poor behavior or come down hard on them like an anvil. Whether it involves setting the bar higher in terms of acceptable behavior, or anger management classes, I don’t know.

I realize there is personal responsibility problem here, and that is a whole other conversation, but if they have players acting poorly and they allow it, then they are part of the problem. I sure don’t think they should be given a pass because of their pro status.

I feel I must mention the fact that I do not care about sports like others do. Because I don’t value most sports, I don’t know much about the players. The ones I have heard of are either exceptional or are jerks. Maybe they should taker a harder line with the jerks.  With that said, I’m sure there are a lot of normal nice guys on teams, just happy to have the opportunity to play the game they love and get paid for it.

4. What season of the year is toughest for you in terms of your health? Why?

I never used to have problems with any of them. I feel like in the past couple of years there has been something in the air during fall. Something causing some weird coughing and sneezing for no good reason. I have no known allergies but there’s….something.

5. The top six healthy food trends of 2014 according to Eating Well are-

clean eating
(more veg, less meat, less sodium, limit alcohol and processed foods)
trash fish (you know those fish that get caught in fishermen nets and are thrown back? It seems chefs are finding creative ways to make them more appetizing)
cauliflower (this year’s IT vegetable)
kaniwa (essentially baby quinoa, so like quinoa only smaller)
fermentation (think pickling except with twists on flavor we’re not accustomed to)
community supported food (farms operating with community support/membership).
Okay-so how many of the hot healthy food trends for 2014 have you experienced, encountered, enjoyed? Any you’ve tried and said ewwww? Any on the list you’d like to try before year’s end?
Cauliflower is big in the low carb community and I am a fan. I really like mashed cauliflower, like potatoes, but my family is vehemently against it. I sometimes make it for myself and eat it with lunch.

I will say I would like to try the kaniwa. I would also like to try it’s older sibling, quinoa. I have been pinning recipes featuring it on Pinterest 🙂

6. In seven words or less, bid September adieu.

September went way too fast this year!!!
7. What’s something on your October calendar that makes you happy just thinking about it?

Honey and I will be heading down to Florida in October and it makes me happy to think about him on vacation! Poor guy needs a break!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

One of my new favorite things to do is sit on the couch with Mousey, she on her laptop, me on my iPad, and send each other pins we think the other would like! We also send pins to The Ab-Cat and I take pictures of things to send to The Boy on iMessage. It’s like a full blown hobby! I am so late to the Pinterest party but I am having a fine time!!!!!

5 Comments

  1. April said,

    October 1, 2014 at 5:27 AM

    I got interested in Pinterest when it first came out, but I’ve let it fall by the wayside somewhat. I do find some great recipes on there, though. Yes, Sept. seemed to just fly by!

  2. jodaley said,

    October 1, 2014 at 6:24 AM

    My girls and I love sending each other pins we think are useful or hilarious. Mostly hilarious : ) I made short ribs recently and the recipe called for putting them on mashed potatoes. I did cauliflower instead, and it was delish. Vacation! Whoohoo!

  3. October 1, 2014 at 11:14 AM

    Have a lovely break in Florida! Sounds like a wonderful idea. My sister, from northern Minnesota, flees the winter and heads to Florida late fall.

  4. October 1, 2014 at 11:29 AM

    Enjoy your vacation! Florida sounds like fun, especially this time of year!

  5. Judy said,

    October 1, 2014 at 8:27 PM

    Enjoy your time in Florida.


Leave a Reply

