Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, glad you stopped by! If you would like to join us, click the button below to head over to Joyce’s to play along.

1. Elizabeth Lawrence is quoted as saying, ‘Even if something is left undone, everyone must take time to sit still and watch the leaves turn." So have you done just that? And what did you leave undone in order to do so?

I don’t think I left anything undone to do it, as a matter of fact I multitasked. I did most of my leaf watching while walking and driving. It has been spectacular this year!
2. Since we’re talking turning…what’s one thing you feel you’re doing ‘every time you turn around‘?

I feel like every time I turn around it’s CHRISTMAS! Seriously, I just took those dang decorations DOWN.
3. How hard is it for you to ‘turn the other cheek?’

I goggled it to see what the internet said that meant.

Refrain from retaliating when one has been attacked or insulted.

I know from experience that I can turn the other cheek, but I find that I am wary and that can take a long time to resolve. Just because I don’t retaliate doesn’t mean I have forgotten. I pray about that because I don’t want to hold a grudge.
4. When did you last turn a drawer, your car, a room, or your entire house upside down looking for something? Did you find it?

A couple weeks ago I was making some pumpkin chocolate chip muffins and I could not find the beaters for the hand mixer! I took quite a bit of stuff out of the drawer and they were not there! I have always put them in the same place. I finally gave up and called The Ab-Cat and told her SHE had to find them because she puts the dishes away and I was done looking for them. She did find them and I suspect it’s because she accidently put them in another drawer!
5. ‘One good turn deserves another‘…were you most recently on the giving or receiving end of that sentiment?

I was on the receiving end just last night!

Mousey and I were at the store the other day and I was looking for the eyeliner I normally use. I have been having the hardest time finding it in the espresso color I have bought for years! That same day she let me try her new lipstick, and I liked it very well. Last night she brought me the eyeliner, the lipstick and a lip gloss she picked up for me at Ulta! What a big old hunk of honey!
6. Red, yellow, and orange are the colors of fall. Also the colors of fruit. If you were permitted only one color of fruit in your diet, which would you choose? This question isn’t as easy as it sounds, at least not for me.

I have been eating bananas lately in the form of the mashed banana with 2 eggs pancake  so I will pick that. Other than that I tend to be a red fruit eater; strawberry, raspberry, cherry, apple and such.
7. The Hunt for Red October, October Sky, Halloween…which ‘October‘ film is your favorite?

The Hunt for Red October, although I haven’t seen it in YEARS.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Everywhere I turn these days I am hearing about essential oils!  It’s literally and figuratively in the air. Does anyone have any first hand experience with them? I sat next to a gal at Bible study who was a fan,  I read about them on a blog, they are all over Pinterest and this week Heifer Lynn was pinning them like it was her J.O.B., and lastly a good friend came to get her hair done and we chatted about them extensively. There are so many different brands and smells and ways to use them. It seems confusing, yet intriguing, with a pinch of voodoo thrown in! What do you know? Spill it.

11 Comments

  1. Heifer Lynn said,

    October 22, 2014 at 6:20 AM

    FYI. I just ordered a big pack of essential oils. I’m excited to start using them. I’ll keep you posted.

  2. edshunnybunny said,

    October 22, 2014 at 6:59 AM

    I’m stopping by to visit from the Hodgepodge today. I agree with you, it seems like we just took the Christmas decorations down!
    I haven’t tried any essential oils, but they seem to be getting very popular here, too…

  3. April said,

    October 22, 2014 at 7:15 AM

    Unfortunately, I can’t help with with the essential oils, but you have definitely sparked my interest in learning more! How kind of Mousey to surprise you with those beauty products! I know that made your day!

  4. October 22, 2014 at 8:45 AM

    I laughed at your answer to #2. I didn’t take down the Christmas tree on our front porch until sometime in March. LOL About essential oils, Yes, I use them in my homemade soaps. Check it out. The links are on my blog at the bottom of each post. Also, essential oils have so many aromatherapy qualities to them. Lavender helps you go to sleep, rosemary is good to help with acne, tea tree and eucalyptus are natural antibacterials, etc. etc.

  5. Judy said,

    October 22, 2014 at 8:50 AM

    Even we have started planning for Christmas! My granddaughter E is going to be in a Christmas concert. No oils here!

  6. warren said,

    October 22, 2014 at 10:05 AM

    It’s funny…I am one who is often quick to retaliate…with my tongue. I usually forget pretty quickly though I suppose my retaliation probably ends the relationship in most cases so my forgetting has no effect…

  7. Joyce said,

    October 22, 2014 at 11:04 AM

    So I have been saving a few fragments this week in my draft folder for my Friday Frag post and essential oils is on it. As in what’s all the fuss…I feel like I need to know too : ) When I hear how many days til Christmas my stomach flip flops because we have a wedding a week later. It’s coming up fast all of a sudden!

  8. Tammy Doane said,

    October 22, 2014 at 4:29 PM

    My one experience with essential made me sick-maybe I was sick to begin with-but not trying them anymore. Christmas has sure come upon us so fast.

  9. Cheryl said,

    October 22, 2014 at 5:12 PM

    My daughter’s friend is selling essential oils. We haven’t tried them yet but years ago I did use some. I don’t remember why I quit though…haha

  10. October 23, 2014 at 9:14 AM

    I don’t know too much about essential oils except they are very strong. Don’t make the mistake that some do who use it as a perfume. And if you are going to use it anywhere on your skin, just mix a drop or two with a neutral oil. I’m pretty much a fragrance-free person (even natural fragrances) because they make me ill, but I do like to use them in the cleaners I make up. I make a multi-purpose cleaner in a spray bottle with 16 to 20 ounces distilled water, 1 ounce of liquid castile soap and 5 drops each of tea tree, eucalyptus and lavender essential oils.

  11. deb said,

    October 24, 2014 at 9:40 AM

    I like those plug in room fresheners, but feel that I am inhaling chemicals in with them. I fould a plug-in contraption the holds a few drops of essential oil. I really like it…a mix of lavender and other good smells is the oil combo I chose.


Leave a Reply

