Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! It feels like I have been gone for a long time! Thank you to Joyce for giving us something to chat about every week!

1. What’s something you take for granted, that when you stop and think about it you feel truly grateful for?

I get aggravated with my body. The headaches, backaches, and other pains, the way it has kicked me to the curb a few times in years past, but when I really think about it I am truly grateful for what I’ve got. I can walk, breathe deeply without pain and I have platelets, that’s more than some of my loved ones have right now.
2. The color brown-love it or no? What’s your favorite shade of brown? Most loved something in your home or closet in a shade of brown?

I love brown, to wear and to decorate with. Most browns are good and they look especially nice with rusts, golds and greens, autumns colors. I will say this is my favorite brown thing in our home.

IMG_1193

There has been a lot of life around that table. Eating, talking, visiting, games and laughter! And a lot of folded laundry.
3. What’s something you’re looking forward to today?

I always look forward to seeing the ladies at BSF. We manage to get a lot of visiting in when we gather to study God’s Word!
4. The word ‘feminism’ is not new, but it has been generating all kinds of headlines in recent days and months. What do you think/feel when you hear the word? If you’re a woman, do you want to be described as a feminist? Why or why not?

When I was a child growing up in the 70s  the word feminist conjured up a militant, in your face, man bashing woman.  I don’t really consider myself a feminist, but I am aware that the women’s rights movement has facilitated the changes in our country that allow me to vote and to have many of the opportunities that I am able to enjoy.
5. What’s something you personally can’t eat without making a mess?

Ribs get on your hands. I don’t like that.
6. When did you last surprise someone with a little gift or when were you last surprised by someone with a little gift? What was it?

This is my darling friend Dorothy! When we see each other at BSF she says “there’s my Kelly!” and I say “there’s my Dorothy!”. For no reason at all Dorothy gave me the beautimous scarf I am wearing here! I love her.

IMG_0945
7. Share a favorite quote, saying, song lyric or scripture relating to gratitude.

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

The Ab-Cat and I are driving to Chicago tomorrow to pick up The Boy, The Dane and the Grandcat, who are coming home for the week of Thanksgiving. The Grandcat is coming to live with us because his parents are moving back into on campus student housing. Did you catch that? The Grandcat is coming to LIVE WITH US!!!!!!! WOO HOO!

Now I will be posting the Weekly Sy so THEY can see HIM!

4 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    November 19, 2014 at 7:20 AM

    What a pretty scarf-shades of brown too : ) I love unexpected thoughtful gifts. And you posted one of my favorite favorite most favorite hymns. I hope The Boy is doing well. So happy you’ll have your kids home for Thanksgiving.

  2. April said,

    November 19, 2014 at 8:36 AM

    The photo of you and your friend is so sweet…you can feel the love between you two. “Great is Thy Faithfulness”…a definite favorite of mine!

  3. November 19, 2014 at 8:44 AM

    Such a blessing to have friends to study God’s Word with. Beautiful scarf. Enjoyed the pic. Have fun with the Grand-cat. So nice to have family there over Thanksgiving.

  4. rachel koekstat said,

    November 19, 2014 at 5:23 PM

    Lucky you Have a good visit and I love all of you and think of you often


Leave a Reply

