Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, long time no see!!! I have missed hanging around with you all!

Special thanks to our hostess Joyce for giving us something to talk about TWO HUNDRED TIMES!!! Happy Anniversary Joyce!

1. What is something in your life right now that feels a little ‘hodgepodge’?

I had to Goggle that. It said

a mixture of different things, a jumble

Nothing is coming to mind. Oh wait, there it is MY MIND is always a hodgepodge!
2. What does ‘peace on earth, goodwill to men‘ mean to you?
Hmmmm, peace on earth. I think that will only be the Lord’s doing. We are a fractious bunch. It’s probably our work to extend goodwill to our fellow man. I do think that if people pondered the real meaning of Christmas there would be more of both. It seems like Christmas brings out the best and worst of us.

A lot of people make a conscious effort to think of others less fortunate and are extremely generous in the name of Jesus, whose birth we are celebrating. Then others are crabby and stressed out because of their mile long things to do list and have no patience or kindness to be found. Like the guy in front of me at Marshalls who was grumbling under his breath LOUDLY that the cashiers should just stop TALKING and the line would go quicker! They were just being pleasant and he was a grump-a-saurus.

3. Which edible treat you are most looking forward to sampling this December?

I consider myself an equal opportunity dessert eater, so much is scrumtrulescent! I am going to say fudge because I don’t have fudge any other time of the year.
4. It’s that most wonderful time of the year…do you agree, and if so why is it so wonderful?  If not, what would you say is the most wonderful time of the year?

I have never spent any time thinking about what I thought was the the best time of the year. I love Christmas, as I love Thanksgiving, as I love vacation, as I love get togethers. I used to always tell Honey that Saturday lunch with the kids was the best time of the week. Nothing special happened, the kids and I sat around talking and laughing and playing desert island.

Christmas IS wonderful. Celebrating the birth of Jesus, anticipation, the beauty, the”goodwill to men”, the pleasure of being with loved ones and who doesn’t like presents? But I think Christmas can turn into something NOT wonderful very quickly. I know when the kids were small it was much more hectic, but I try and not let myself get out of hand. A little hustle and bustle is fun but I don’t want to spend the whole season chasing my tail.  I have been fairly successful the last decade or so, and it has made the season way more wonderful!
5. What was the last word you looked up in a dictionary (actual or online) and why?

Consecration, for my Bible study. FYI it means: to make or declare sacred; set apart or dedicate to the service of a deity.

6. Besides a Christmas tree, what is your favorite thing to decorate this time of year?

I like to decorate our mantle, it’s not up yet!
7. Share one thing you’ve learned (about yourself, people, or anything at all) in the Wednesday Hodgepodge, or through blogging in general.

I have found that I like someone giving me a list of things to discuss!!! Thank you Joyce!

I love blogging and I am thankful for so many of the women who write the blogs I read. The Lord has used them to make me laugh, think and even to convict me of areas in my life that need some attention.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

We have been having problems being good citizens over here this week. Seymour, the svelte, almost year old kitty on left side of bed, wants nothing more than to be friends and join the pride. He is eager and bouncy and INTHEIRFACE!!!!! Just like Tigger! Let’s just say our girls have been poor hosts.

It has been an adjustment for our three portly ladies. To say the least.

Honey called me in the bedroom last night. At first I didn’t even see the stealth kitty, but then I saw him!! He is going to make friends or die trying!

IMG_9230

Here’s to a peaceful week.

6 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    December 3, 2014 at 7:39 AM

    I love that photo! Don’t you wish they could talk? It’s almost like they’re talking : ) I’ve taken a lot of the crazy-hectic out of Christmas too. I look for ways to be still and quiet, and the season is much more enjoyable that way. It’s been fun ‘meeting’ you in the HP!

  2. December 3, 2014 at 11:24 AM

    Oo, I love your kitty pic!! I hope the others will be kind to him. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge answers. There are so many like-minded people here. It’s a nice community. 🙂

  3. April said,

    December 3, 2014 at 11:42 AM

    Fudge was my pick, too! I only make it at Christmastime and it’s to-die-for!

  4. Tammy Doane said,

    December 3, 2014 at 3:22 PM

    My mind is a Hodgepodge–so true of myself. Great kitty pics-my oldest daughter would love this.

  5. Judy said,

    December 3, 2014 at 4:22 PM

    Wonderful answers. I made fudge for the first time in about 10 years. I even had to look up the recipe on the computer. It was delicious and I will make it again.

  6. deb said,

    December 3, 2014 at 9:21 PM

    Your kitties all coordinate well together! I look forward to your cheeseball…that has become a tradition around the Kolars house.


Leave a Reply

