Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

So glad you stopped by in the thick of this busy time of year! Special thank you to Joyce who is juggling Christmas along with her daughter’s wedding soon after! If you would like to play along, click the button below to link up.

1. What is one new holiday tradition you’d like to establish, or one you’ve established recently, say in the last year or two?
I’ve got nothing.

2. It’s the second week of December. Have you sipped a cup of eggnog yet this month? Wrapped a gift? Opened a gift? Kissed someone under the mistletoe? Lit a candle? Eaten a Christmas cookie? Seen Santa in person? Watched a Christmas movie or special? Read scripture relating to the birth of Jesus?
I have not done much but I have opened a gift, lit a candle, and we have heard scripture about the birth of Jesus during Advent at church.

The Girls and I have been discussing what to watch for our introduction to Christmas movie. Mousey picked the clay-mation Jack Frost, which I have to confess I don’t think I have ever seen. How did I miss that one? I loved all the others!

3. Do you think it’s better to be an adult or a child at Christmastime? Explain.

I never find myself wishing to be a child again so I will say it’s better to be an adult. We are adults for SO much longer than we are children, I guess it’s good I am ok with that.

When I was a kid we talked about the real reason for Christmas but I think I was all about the presents. As an adult I can appreciate the birth of a Savior, the miracle and the message so much better.

One thing has remained the same, I love celebrating this joyous occasion.
4. It’s often said, ‘Good things come to those who wait’…agree or disagree? Why?

I think it certainly can be true. We live in such an impatient time. Instant, fast, hurried, and we want things to be ready when we want it. Like Veruca Salt, I WANT IT NOW!!!!

Over the years I have learned that God’s time is not my time. He has used waiting to grow my faith and teach me to trust Him. He sees the big picture when I can’t see beyond the issue I want fixed. I have known some who have waited and prayed diligently for specific things for a very long time, and have not seen the good they hope for. I put myself in this category. There are situations near and dear to my heart that I have taken before the Lord. This is my life verse:

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

It might seem simple but that ‘lean not on your own understanding’ part trips me up every time. My own understanding is directly related to MY timeline and ideas. Whether I admit it or not, I have a plan for how I would like to see things shake out, and it’s obviously not the same plan as God’s, because it hasn’t happened.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Ultimately, I know that God has the plans for my good and for my loved ones, He has told me that in His Word. I am very thankful that sometimes He gives me little insights or glimpses  into what He

is doing, but most times I am here, trying to be patient. And here is what I’ll do while I wait for those good things.

Romans 12:12  Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

5. What’s the last sweet thing you baked? Did you keep it, take it to a party/event, or give it away?

I made 2 batches of Sinful Saltines on Monday, one for each Bible study luncheon I attend. I take it and leave it ALL there!!! It’s usually gone anyway, it’s very yummy!
6.  This question comes to us courtesy of Jhona who blogs over at The Red House at the End of the Lane. Everyone hop over and say hi to Jhona this week!  Here is her question… "I heard an actor talk about how he makes a conscious choice to talk to people in elevators.  He chooses to connect, make eye contact, and converse. Do you talk to people/strangers when you’re in an elevator or any other place where you might have to wait together? Why or why not?"
I talk to people all.the.time. Or they talk to me. Honey and our children can vouch for this.

I think I have shared here before that I think if people are talking to me, a complete stranger, in a store or elevator or anywhere, they must be lonely or need to talk to someone. I am not so busy that I cannot give them my full attention for a moment.

Just yesterday afternoon an older lady struck up a conversation with me in front of the olive oil at Sam’s. She was sweet, telling me that she heard that the price of olive oil was going up after Christmas for some reason and I should get the big one because it was a better deal. We chatted several minutes, I thanked her for her good advice and we went about our business. It was my pleasure to interact with her. Everybody wants to be seen and given a smile and a kind word. I have been on the giving and receiving end of this.

7. Are you on the naughty or nice list this year? What put you there?

Man, I hope it’s the nice list!!!!!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

I am looking back to 1997 here with a 3 year old Mousey, The Boy was 6 and The Ab-Cat was 8.

IMG_1261

One of my favorite Christmas photo shoots eveh!

IMG_1260

It’s hard to believe they are grown now. They are still like this in my mind.

IMG_1262

Thanks for visiting!

8 Comments

  1. Tammy Doane said,

    December 10, 2014 at 7:16 AM

    Great pics. I remind myself daily-it is God’s timeline not mine.

  2. jodaley said,

    December 10, 2014 at 7:59 AM

    The pictures are precious! I have never tried the sinful saltines. My daughter made them last year to take to something and said they were really good, so maybe she can be persuaded to make some when she’s home. Have a nice week!

  3. caprilis said,

    December 10, 2014 at 8:01 AM

    “My own understanding” is always causing me problems too! I love your words.

  4. deb said,

    December 10, 2014 at 8:01 AM

    Inspiring words, Kel. Don’t those babies grow up so quick!

  5. April said,

    December 10, 2014 at 9:28 AM

    I know exactly what you mean about being patient and waiting on the Lord. I’m learning more about that with each passing day. You kids are so sweet in those photos. Don’t you wish you could just turn back the hands of time?

  6. Judy said,

    December 10, 2014 at 9:51 AM

    Your pics could have been similar to ours at that time with our 3 kids. Have a merry Christmas!

  7. December 10, 2014 at 12:32 PM

    I really lenjoyed the post and especially your answer to #4. What sweet kid pics. Hope you have a wonderful and blessed Christmas.

  8. Brenda said,

    December 10, 2014 at 3:16 PM

    Such cute kiddos! I’m sure they’re just as cute now as then! I enjoyed your #6 answer. It makes me want to constantly be aware of the needs of those around me, rather than the rushing to get the things done.


Leave a Reply

