A Weekend List

It has been a long time since I have had a dedicated F-List! I am always a little listy, but this is a flat out, all over the place, long-ish list!

BSF (Bible Study Fellowship) and the Bible study at our church are both over for the year. This was a week of celebrating the one true God, the great I AM, fellowship with loverly women in both studies, and luncheons, with yummy soups, salads and DESSERTS!

How fortunate am I to be surrounded by so many wonderful, dedicated women who love and serve the Lord? Many, many kisses on both cheeks from a really good God.

In the church study we were in Exodus chapter 20. The chapter of the Ten Commandments.

I have heard and read that many people think the Bible and is outdated and needs to change with the times. They certainly don’t think the rules and laws in the Old Testament apply to our enlightened times. People think they are so suchy-muchy. By the way, all of the Ten Commandments but one are repeated in the New Testament. They still apply.

The moral laws don’t change because HE doesn’t change.  The Ten Commandments show us God’s character. He transforms us when we follow His laws.

God doesn’t lower His standards, He raises His people to His standards.

At BSF we studied Exodus 35-40. The building of the Tabernacle and everything in it. It told how Moses and the artesian did just as the Lord commanded. The chapter told of the first mentioned filling of the Holy Spirit, who gave the skills needed to do all the work required; work in gold, silver and bronze, ability to cut and set stones, work in wood, skilled craftsman to do all kinds of work as craftsmen, designers, embroiderers and skill with fine linen. I was impressed that it also mentioned that he gave them the ability to teach others.

As I read this I thought about Honey, Mrs. Schmenkman, Capri’s Deb, Patt and Laurie, Deb’s hubby BFG and his brother John, all filled to overflowing with God given skills and abilities. Brimming with God given talents!

MAN, I was in the wrong line when they were passing out those abilities!!!

Also mentioned in our passage (35) was how Moses had asked the Israelites to take an offering from everyone who was willing, of what they had.

22Then all whose hearts moved them, both men and women, came and brought brooches and earrings and signet rings and bracelets, all articles of gold; so did every man who presented an offering of gold to the LORD.…”  

Their wealth, their possessions, what they had. It then repeated twice that they brought MORE THAN ENOUGH to do the work. It was a good reminder to me at this time of year, really any time of year, that God gives us MORE THAN ENOUGH to do what He asks us to do. What does He ask us to do?

Luke 10:27

And he answered, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.”

I need to ponder giving more than enough.

I know I don’t always love others as myself. Sometimes those others around me are irritating and rude, and I am more concerned with distance than loving.

Need to put loving others as myself on the ponder list.

I am going to a cookie exchange today with The Peanuts Champ and The Back Door Neighbor this afternoon. I have not attended one in YEARS. I am making Miss Kris’ shortbread to take. It’s the first official Christmas baking of the year!

I learned that The Boy and The Dane will be home on Wednesday night. All they have to get accomplished is The Dane’s finals and moving everything they own out of their first apartment into their second apartment. Piece of cake, right?!

Honey and I went out for a bit yesterday afternoon to do a little shopping.

I feel more accomplished on that front. While we had pretty good ideas for what we were going to purchase, having them actually purchased and in our home makes it feel more… concretely accomplished.

I am a little surprised that concretely is a real word.

I have been thinking about Christmas cards. I have fallen into a one year on, one year off pattern and this is an ON year. I still need that picture.

Of course I do.

The Boy started yet another new treatment this week. A different steroid that appears to have a greater success rate for patients who are refractory to previous treatments.

In other words, it works better on the tough nuts to crack.

As always, we are praying for remission. Or complete healing. Whichever comes first.

I asked him what the side effects were, he said in addition to the usual steroid suspects, fat and acne.

Hello Christmas picture!!!! Just in the nick of time.

I am going back and forth on the decision to not have an official Christmas tree. Plus others are giving me a hard time!

I’m pretty sure we won’t. Unless we do.

After Honey and I did our little shopping trip we went to dinner at a little Thai place we like. It was nice to just sit and talk.

You know what I miss? Honey. That’s what I miss. This working 7 days a week for WELL over a year is about as old as that dinosaur skeleton everybody is talking about. PLENTY OLD.

Come on FORD MOTOR COMPANY!

I guess that’s enough for one list. I hope your weekend is restful, and accomplished. I know that the one does not always equal the other, but sometimes the accomplished contributes to the restful in your mind!

1 Comment

  1. deb said,

    December 13, 2014 at 9:41 PM

    Oh CK, you make me laugh! The season has officially begun for you. Maybe that Christmas tree will happen now that you have a little more time (or maybe not! 😉 ). I hope Honey gets some time off during the holidays.
    I pray always on using my gifts wisely, for His glory.


Leave a Reply

