Wednesday Hodgepodge

I am really late to the party today. My apologies!

We are getting down to the Christmas wire aren’t we?  An extra special thank you to Joyce who has MUCH on her plate, in addition to the Wednesday Hodgepodge AND Christmas, her daughter is getting married right after New Years, it’s getting very hectic I’m sure!

1. Time magazine has selected The Ebola Fighters as their person of the year for 2014. Do you agree, and if so who would you say is a close second? If you disagree with their choice, who do you think should have been chosen?

Why is it when asked these type of questions I cannot remember a single thing that happened the entire previous year? I will read some of the other Hodpodge answers and say, oh yes, they were great, but for the moment it’s a big old …blank.

I can’t fault the winners here. They give an extraordinary effort in a seriously dangerous situation. The front lines, as we began to see, were not in a safe place directing the show. It was in the trenches, caring for the sick and dying in sometimes primitive conditions while wearing a lot of life saving protective gear.

When most ran from the death, they remained and tried to help, sometimes at great cost to themselves.

I watched several interviews by the American doctors and nurses who risked their lives for the people of these countries. Talk about loving your neighbor as yourself! They deserve to be the People of the Year.

2. This question comes to you courtesy of Susan who blogs over at Stew Mama Says. She knows we have a wedding happening any minute now, and she asks, ‘What’s your favorite-something old? something new? something borrowed? something blue in your home?  Be sure you hop over and say hi to Susan today!

My favorite something old would be HONEY! HA! Ok, I will say I am liking having my Mother’s china. I have used it 2 or 3 times since I brought it home the summer before last.

New. I am enjoying the new purse I bought this summer in South Haven with the gals from Caregroup. I love the color and it usually goes well with the majority of my clothing. What I was thinking, as I shopped a goodish amount yesterday, is that it is SO light!! Didn’t weigh me down at all.

Borrowed. Just yesterday I had the thought to give my brother Beeve the set of the DVR Blueray Indiana Jones series for Christmas. I texted my SIL Stacey to see if he already had them, because our children borrowed their Uncle Beeve’s boxed set of VCR tapes several decades ago and wore them SLAP OUT. Unfortunately, he already had them, except for the last Crystal Skull one (which was not so good in my opinion) and the store didn’t have that one. Of course. So the Indiana Jones VCR trilogy was favoritely borrowed.

Blue. This color is severely under represented in our home. Besides the obvious blue jeans, the only thing I could find as I perused the house was this painting by the Ab-Cat in 1996 when she was 7. I love it.

IMG_1305

3. Fudge-yay or nay? Your favorite flavor? Do you make it yourself? With nuts or without? 

YAY!!! I have a great recipe for peanut butter fudge that my friend Shari Erdmann gave me years ago. I do make it and have given a lot away over the years. You can go either way with the nuts, but I think I usually do add some pecans.

4. December 17th is Wright Brothers Day, commemorating the first successful flights made by Orville and Wilbur Wright in 1903 in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.  How old were you when you made your first flight? Do you like to fly? Have you ever been to Kitty Hawk or other parts of the North Carolina Outer Banks?

There is a certificate in my baby book that says Welcome to the Sky Cradle Club! I was born in September and I am guessing my parents flew from California to Michigan for Christmas to introduce me to the family. I remember my Mother always telling me that I was only a couple months old the first time I flew.

I don’t mind flying, I feel I have gotten it down to a science. I know the rules and have only been tripped up once, years ago.

I haven’t been to those parts of North Carolina. Just to see Mrs. Schmenkman when she lived in Greensboro, many years ago.

5. Do the people in your family tend to follow a particular career path, and if so what’s the path?

No, we are equal opportunity career folk. I will say that my Father was a barber before entering the police force. So I guess I did follow there, but he didn’t barber in my lifetime. I have cut his hair, he gave me a thumbs up.
6. What is one thing you absolutely, positively must accomplish today?

There is not one thing that HAS to be done today. I would like to start the thing I am making and today seems the likely day. Would like to do a little more wrapping, it helps me see where I might need to fill in a little. I REALLY need to get my hair colored but today is Mousey’s  long day guarding lives, so that’s not happening. Might go pick up the turkey.  I am flexible.
7. This Christmas I hope___________________________________.

…I can show the love of God’s Son Jesus to whomever I interact with, loved one and stranger alike.

I also hope these dang cats can begin to like/love/accept each other. Smile

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Little Sy got an early Christmas present from his new adopted Mama. His very own cat tree, or aka, his very own naughty spot!!!!!

IMG_1304

He wasted no time making himself at home.

Since we won’t be Hodgepodging next week because of the holidays, have a very Merry Christmas!!!

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you accomplish that one thing on your list that you MUST accomplish today!

5 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    December 17, 2014 at 11:07 AM

    I love the blue sky on the angel painting. So special. I also love fudge, and your peanut butter version sounds delicious! Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas!

  2. Nikki said,

    December 17, 2014 at 4:29 PM

    That is what my new kitty needs! Although she may still go for the couch. ;/ We did just get her a new scratching post with cat nip, she’s enjoying it ok but likes her catnip filled mouse better.

  3. deb said,

    December 17, 2014 at 7:39 PM

    Love Ab’s painting!

  4. jodaley said,

    December 18, 2014 at 7:46 AM

    I almost said the hubs for my ‘old’ thing too. Except of course we are not old : ) Merry Christmas to you and your family and may your home be blessed with friendly cats!

  5. Barb said,

    December 18, 2014 at 5:16 PM

    What a nice present Ab!


Leave a Reply

