Last Wednesday Hodgepodge of 2014!

I had hoped to get my post ready last night, but a late night cookie frosting/decorating session with the kids knocked my train off its tracks. When I awoke I thought I probably wouldn’t participate. But then I went over and read our hostess Joyce’s answers and I got all nostalgic and thought I should do it anyway. And here we are. Special, special thanks to Joyce for herding us cats all year long, but especially this year when she has her daughters WEDDING next week!!! She has a lot going on right now, if she can post, I can post!

1. Share a favorite moment from your Christmas holiday celebration.

It was nice having all of our People under one roof. I know not everyone can say that so I am thankful.

2. What would you say has been the biggest news event during your life so far?

I would say 9/11 because it was the biggest national tragedy I have lived through in my lifetime, but also because the media coverage was so much better than say Pearl Harbor or the Great Depression or the sinking of the Titanic. Can you imagine if all of the first space stuff was on TV now? They would have to have their own channel!

9/11 was so huge and right in our living rooms. We had much more information so much faster than any tragedy in previous years. It changed our country.

3. The Pantone Color of the Year for 2015 is Marsala. What say you-like or no like? Would I find this color anywhere in your home or wardrobe? Will you add something in this shade to either?

I L.O.V.E. this color!!!!!!! It is well represented in our home AND in my wardrobe. It’s a perfect warm shade and goes so well with the gold, greens, varying shades of browns, the darker brick red color that could be it’s bolder, older sister, and a spicy autumnal pumpkin-y sort of color already featured in the majority of our rooms. It also pairs nicely with black, grey and some favorite blue jeans. It’s a winner.

4. Would you rather meet your ancestors or your great grandchildren? Explain why.

Both sound intriguing, but I am going to go with ancestors because genealogy has always interested me so much. I think it’s because there is nothing known about our heritage on my Mother’s side. My Father’s side was unknown to me when I was younger, though it has now been traced back to the Mennonite folks who first arrived in America. When I was growing up, it seemed people could immediately say where their people were from. Like Honey, his Father is from Belgium, his Mother’s people are directly from Italy. He is half and half, easy peasy. I guess I kind of longed to have a connection to something beyond our southern heritage.

5. Share one life lesson learned in 2014?

I will say it has been relearned. “We could all be 5 minutes from disaster”, to quote Honey many years ago, describing our life changing car accident.

I heard from Jip the Farm Dog that one of the leaders in our Bible study circle lost her husband on Monday. Completely unexpected. She is a lovely, funny, faithful Christian gal, not too much older than we are. Her husband had not yet retired. I could tell by the way she spoke of him that they were very close. That might sound strange because married people are supposed to be close, but some are more in synch. You know the kind, the peas and carrots, peanut butter and jelly, bread and butter, chai and cream kind.

We are heartbroken for her. I can’t stop thinking about how when we all said our fond goodbyes after the BSF luncheon, she had no idea what she was walking into, how upside down her world was going to become, how her 2015 has started as a nightmare she can’t wake up from.

As a believer in Jesus Christ, she knows she will see him again. It’s the rest of her life here, without her soul mate, that is the really difficult part. The most unimaginable, gut wrenching, unfathomable, heartbreaking part. A life lesson I don’t want to learn. I have been through trials in my life, but WITH Honey. I can’t imagine going through that kind of loss without him

“We could all be 5 minutes from disaster”, live your life accordingly.

6. What was your best or favorite purchase made in 2014?

Well, Honey brought me a NEW COMPUTER for Christmas so WOO TO THE HOOTY HOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s not hooked up yet, but seeing as I have waited years to replace our ancient nag, a little while longer is doable! Have I mentioned that the Old Grey Mare won’t even allow me to access the blob anymore? Or other blogs, or Amazon? That’s how it rolls, both random and vindictive.

7. What is one thing you’re looking forward to in the new year?

See the above answer Smile

We are going to Florida with the Girls in February, that is exciting to think about since The Mitten just got a little frigid.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Since 2014 is going out on a sad note, I find myself pensive. Just like Mary K was not aware of the fork in her road, we don’t know what our future holds. I am once again reminded that I want to finish strong, where ever my finish line might be. The Lord has given us a blueprint of how to live and I am thankful for the reminder.

Micah 6:8

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

Happy New Year Friends.

4 Comments

  1. Honey's Older Sister said,

    December 31, 2014 at 5:41 PM

    Happy New Year to the whole family. All the best in 2015 for health, prosperity, peace and happiness.
    prayers & hugs.

  2. bp said,

    December 31, 2014 at 7:26 PM

    That is sad to read. What a sad way to start the year. Thanks for sharing the quote though, good to remember.

  3. warren said,

    January 2, 2015 at 12:53 PM

    I never thought about it much but I think I would like to meet future generations…just to know it’s going to be ok (hopefully anyhow). I am not too tied up in legacy or that sort of thing, but I would like to see how things turn out. I’d love to see backwards too though I guess, for me, I sort of know the big events in the recent (hundred or so years) past…good question anyhow!

  4. deb said,

    January 2, 2015 at 9:13 PM

    Happy New Year to all of the clan, may 2015 be a wonderful year! Hearing news like Mary’s is so sad, I’m sorry for her loss. And am reminded to not take our love’s for granted.


Leave a Reply

