Way Back When-sday-Second Grade Capri Kel

 This was my Mother’s nightmare. She despised  this picture.

I despised the way she sent me to school that morning even more.

She had put curlers in my hair the night before. The pink sponge kind that you could sleep on. I usually only had to do that on Saturday night so I could look all purty for church on Sunday. But this was a special occasion. Picture Day.

My hair didn’t turn out as she had planned. So she teased my bangs and the top and combed the whole thing back and plopped a pearl and gold head band on me. Then she sprayed it. I.Was.Mortified. I am sure I told her just how mortified I was too.

Words cannot express how horrified  I was.

You know how they always had moms around on picture day to straighten you up? Tuck your shirt in, brush your bangs to the side, hand out combs so you can make yourself spiffy?

I took one of those little black combs, took out that headband and combed out that ugly hairdo. Oh yes I did. Combed it all forward. And created my Mother’s worst school picture experience ever.

We still have a ton of those pictures kicking around. I don’t think she gave out a single one. She said I ruined my second grade picture for all time. Well, I have no regrets.  All I can say is better me than her.

See you next Wednesday!

10 Comments

  1. deb said,

    January 27, 2010 at 7:24 AM

    Too funny, maybe your mom can laugh about it now too. Looks like you are biting your lip, maybe you knew you were in for it.

  2. tammy said,

    January 27, 2010 at 10:09 AM

    That is the funniest story I have heard in awhile. You look so mischievous.

  3. caprilis said,

    January 27, 2010 at 10:52 AM

    Oh. My. WORD!
    You lil’ STINKER!

  4. Hat Chick said,

    January 27, 2010 at 10:53 AM

    Oh. My. Gosh. I have a story like this too, but I think I was in 4th grade….

  5. January 27, 2010 at 11:57 AM

    ROFL!! I love it. That’s something my 7yo would do…

  6. 3goodkids said,

    January 27, 2010 at 1:28 PM

    That is funny. Mousey looks so much like you. My mom used to give us Tony home perms. We have a few pictures of us girls looking like we stuck our fingers in a light socket. I remember all to well sleeping on those curlers.

  7. marlene said,

    January 27, 2010 at 9:09 PM

    Ha ha ha LOL.

  8. warren said,

    January 28, 2010 at 9:01 AM

    That’s awesome Blondie! My first grade pics are like that…back when I had hair. Anyhow, great pic!

  9. Shannon said,

    January 28, 2010 at 12:49 PM

    love that flashback, K! I had a huge fight with mom on 3rd Grade Picture Eve as I insisted on wearing my Brownie uniform. Only I wasn’t in Brownies any more.

  10. kristenkj said,

    January 29, 2010 at 12:40 PM

    Hahahaha! I am so not laughing at you. I’m laughing at that story. That is just absolutely hilarious!

    I always send my kids to school on picture day looking like angels, and with the full knowledge that the pictures will not portray that. There is WAY too much time that passes between the time I primp them and the time that photo is taken.

    Again, hilarious. Hysterical. I needed a laugh today.


Leave a comment