Final Thoughts on Florida ‘11

I can’t believe we have already been home a week! These last 3 days in The Mitten have been considerably more springy, so I feel I can guardedly say, I think spring has sprung!!!!

One last look back over our shoulder to our Florida trip, and then onward HO.

Our days in Florida typically went like this.

I woke up early and read, Honey and Mousey slept in.

We made the first decision of the day, which pool were we going to hit up?

We went to the pool to swim, read, and talk our usual nonsense.

Around 2, we began discussing the second decision we had to make, where would we eat dinner.

We went back to the condo to ready ourselves for where ever we decided to go.

We ate dinner around 4. After every meal, we had to place that meal in order of where it fit on our personal list of favorite meals down to least favorite meals.

We made the third decision of where we would spend the evening. Usually, this was Mousey’s decision as to where she wanted to shop. That one is a SHOPPER.

She fancies Ross Dress for Less, TJ Maxx, and Marshall’s. We also stopped in every Goodwill we saw, because there is something about a Florida Goodwill that is super appealing. Honey bought MANY name brand golf shirts in mint condition. Mousey bought a variety of darling items, she can sniff out a super cute little thing out of a whole rack of duds! I controlled myself and only bought 2 golf skorts, a few other purties and of course, added to my capri sleep pant addiction. Mousey even found me a couple of cute things.

Many times when we shop, Honey has been known to hold up 2 matching shirts and ask if he should get these matching shirts for himself and The Boy. They could be their “Fitching Shirts”. The picture on the shirt is usually a gaudy fish picture. We have saved The Boy from having to wear a number of unappealing fishing shirts over the years by saying, oh, I don’t know about that one.

Mousey found this darling shirt at one of the stores she likes to frequent. She found me a very similar one at the Goodwill. When she held it up she said, get this, we will match and we can go fishing! So now, we now have “Fitching Shirts”!

094

Our last decision of the day usually revolved around if we did or did not want ice cream, and where might we purchase it.

So you can see, we had to make some hard choices.

The first day in the sun Mousey did an abominable job with the sunscreen. She called this her shark sunburn. Can you see the shark? Nose to the right, little eye and fin on top?

007

At the beach in her fishing shirt.

263

This was my favorite picture of the whole trip.

225

As usual, Honey showed us a grand time. It was a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Except for the morning we left and had to cram everything into our suitcases, and go to Publix and redistribute weight and growl about WHY DID WE BUY SO MUCH STUFF? That part was not so relaxing.

 231

LOOK, no bandaid on my toenail! Only took a year to grow it back!

234

Before we left, some folks asked if we were taking a friend for Mousey since The Ab-Cat and The Boy were not coming. Quite a few were concerned that she might be bored, and a bored 16 year old girl did not sound like good vacation material. Well, I am here to tell you that she was a perfect Angel-Baby, as usual. What is not to love about being the only child for the very first time in your life, sleeping in, tanning and pooling, eating out every day, SHOPPING every day, and having your parents undivided attention for 10 days?

294

She was a loverly, easy girl, as she always has been. We love that Mousey Girl. Or as her father always calls her, Young Skywalker. I have no idea how, when or why that name came about.

256

Thanks Honey for a GREAT trip! It was a pleasure vacationing with you!

143

Love, me.

4 Comments

  1. May 7, 2011 at 12:40 PM

    That sunburn really does look like a shark! Cool. Sounds like those decisions were very difficult. I mean, where you choose to eat ice-cream is IMPORTANT! My hubby is partial to the Dairy Queen. He says she’s his first love. 😉

    Perfect vacation.

    -FringeGirl

  2. Marlene said,

    May 7, 2011 at 4:49 PM

    So much to love in this here blog!!! Definately my personal fav. of the Florida blogs. I love the pictures (yes, saw the shark) I love the comments you made especially about your little Mouse! How fun!!! And…..maybe it was my fav. because I LOVE to shop!

    • deb said,

      May 9, 2011 at 6:12 AM

      What a lovely summing up of your Florida vacation! Glad you had a great time.

  3. warren said,

    May 10, 2011 at 9:11 AM

    It was nice vacationing with you too! I surely hope this sunburn fades soon…


Leave a comment