Touring the Grounds

Hi Guys, August 4th here, moving right along! It is a delicious 67 degrees outside, always makes for a nice walk! I thought I would enjoy the cool of the morning and take you for a walk outside.

We start out down by the pool. It’s hard to take pictures down there without showing HUGE expanses of pool cover. Not attractive pictures. Therefore, you get areas of the pool area.

This area is coming along nicely considering I had very low expectations for it. I was pretty sure the zinnias would put on a show, but the other two pots seemed like lame ducks. Not a lot of growth or action until recently. But look at them now!!!! I seriously thought the lantana might quit on me.

photo

Once again, a slow moving lantana joophering up the joint. I regretted not getting more zinnia this year. I did get 2 flats. They are so loverly and reliable. Alas, when I returned to the favorite flower store, they had no more. Sad face.

photo

This bad boy is going to town! See the hydrangea behind him?? Thought it might not have survived The Polar Vortex! Glad to be wrong!

photo

The hyacinth bean I bought at the Trailwood Garden Walk finally shot up to the top of the trellis!!!! The other side is not doing as well. Something is lunching on it. Why one side and not the other? I mean I’m glad, but just yearning for understanding.

photo

The other gate is growing nicely after experiencing much PV death. Cut down to the nubbins, but Schmenky was right, it rebounded.

photo

As did the Rose of Sharon!

photo

Now we are up on the back porch. These guys are in various stages of growth. I could be happy with them all but again, I wonder why the third one down has not grown an inch since it was planted. Scratching freshly de-greyed head.

photo

These guys, like Sheldon, really like their spot.

photo

i saw a plant like this when The Peanuts Champ took me to the Ann Arbor Garden Walk earlier this year. It’s called a candy corn plant.

photo

Get it??? It also meandered it’s way up to the tip top.

photo

I am very pleased with the coleus this year. I so enjoy all of their colors and lushness.

photo

I showed you a close up of the other side a few days ago. To be fair, this is the remaining side. It seemed only right.

photo

Oh, here is the other side again, it’s my favorite! Shhh, don’t tell them I said that!

photo

Because Windows Live Writer lives to cause me angst and grievance, I have one more picture of the pool area that was overrode. It’s a long story, no one needs to hear it.

photo

On to the front porch. I am very happy with the front porch chair pot! And the leaning stalk of coleus! But the top pot of alyssum? Has not bloomed again since planting. It is a shame to it’s breed.

photo 

I decided to give Creeping Jenny a whirl in the front porch pots. I think I would like them better if I rearranged what was in the pots differently. The coleus, who I am loathe to say anything bad about, have completely shoved out everything else in there. This was not quite the look I was going for. I thought there would be some other loverlies cascading out of the pot instead of a shock of scared coleus, standing straight up in fear, and an uneven dribble of Jenny creeping around, like a bib of drool. Plus, the Jenny on the left is being munched and is downright mangy. I have some ideas to try next year, to rectify the situation.

001

And there you have it. The grounds of The NutHatch.

Still praying for The Boy to grow, grow, GROW those platelets. More tomorrow. Thank you for your prayers, they are so very much appreciated!

5 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    August 4, 2014 at 8:00 AM

    So beautious. As I like to say — “My name may be Gardner but my thumb is not green.”

  2. caprilis said,

    August 4, 2014 at 8:52 AM

    Everything looks loverly Schmenk. Perhaps watering with miracle grow on those puny pots would help.
    Continued prayers for The Boy and his platelets!

  3. warrenp94 said,

    August 4, 2014 at 10:05 AM

    It dos look loverly…we don’t plant flowers because mine never look like that…Veggies are ok for me but flowers…sheesh

  4. August 4, 2014 at 12:39 PM

    Kelly you sure have a wonderful eye for the combinations and bed arrangements in all your various gardens. I would love to plant a few showy prennials in between my landscaping next to the front porch (no pots on the porch) and under the big picture window. I say I am going to address it every year and then by October/November when I am cleaning up the annuals I have lost my drive to start informing myself what would suit my front yard. Maybe even with the September start of BSF, starting to rearrange closets and storing away all the summer/spring decorations I hope to be reminded, eager and enthused to start the learning process so I will be ready to go in the spring. Your home, gardens and pool are “picture perfect”.

  5. Vickie said,

    August 6, 2014 at 8:44 AM

    You inherited your mama’s green thumb! So beautiful. No flowers here EXCEPT lantana’s guess they like dry and hot. But I can have flowers in the winter!


Leave a comment